Quake 3 engine dev kit for Dreamcast

Talk about Quake, Doom, Wolfenstein 3D, or other DC first person shooting game ports and mods for those games in here.
User avatar
Segata Sanshiro
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu
Posts: 686
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2003 3:23 pm
Location: the future
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Quake 3 engine dev kit for Dreamcast

Post by Segata Sanshiro » Thu Mar 17, 2005 6:04 am

If I'm out of my element here, or this has been discussed before please excuse me and delete this post...
but has anyone been to the official ID software Technology Licensing Page

and have you quake modders and program gurus read this:
Our technology is unsurpassed in the number of operating systems that it operates under. All of these are included with any of the licenses. For example, when you license the QUAKE III Arena engine, you get Mac and Linux in addition to the PC for no extra up-front cost. You’ll also have the ability to use the Dreamcast port of the engine without additional up-front cost, as well as any other operating system or console ports for which we own the source code. Both the QUAKE and QUAKE II engines have similar features and cross-platform functionality.
If this can be used in any way, please comment on the issue, i'm personally involved with game-dev for 3 years (design/modelling/animation) with another engine that has nothing to do with the DC, but will be happy if something came out of this and some cool indie projects emerge.
Moi
QuakeDev Respected
QuakeDev Respected
Posts: 590
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2002 1:15 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Moi » Thu Mar 17, 2005 6:58 am

To compile the Q3DC source you still would have to use the official licensed DCDevkit/(afaik) and you wouldn't be allowed to distribute you Binaries without SEGA's ermission/license.
Create your own Dreamcast games using the Quake-Engine:
http://quakedev.dcemulation.org/develop/getstarted.htm
User avatar
Segata Sanshiro
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu
Posts: 686
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2003 3:23 pm
Location: the future
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Segata Sanshiro » Fri Mar 18, 2005 3:18 am

OK, at least i tried :(
But isn't there a way to achieve anything with this? maybe a commercial project?
User avatar
Morphv2
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 230
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2004 1:36 pm
Location: Someplace
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Morphv2 » Sun Mar 20, 2005 8:14 am

But do you have any idea of the implications of this? ID is going to release the source of a WORKING ONLINE DREAMCAST GAME. Not only does Q3 use the BBA but the modem as well. If the source is released, we will effectively have good working network code to use in homebrew apps.

This nes is absolutely FANTASTIC.
User avatar
Christuserloeser
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5941
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2003 12:16 am
Location: DCEvolution.net
Has liked: 6 times
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Christuserloeser » Sun Mar 20, 2005 9:30 am

Awesome :o

After visiting the website I've not seen any link to the Q3A DC source code - will that be released too or do you have to port it again by yourself :?

For the case it would be available soon and that you'd need the Katana dev kit, maybe it would still be an option for releasing Quake 3 TCs via the GOAT Store...
Insane homebrew collector.
typoEDR
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 117
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 1:46 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by typoEDR » Sun Mar 20, 2005 1:29 pm

I've read into it, and...
If your title requires the best technology available, this is what you?re looking for. You absolutely will not find a more elegantly coded engine. But, honestly, it?s not for everyone. It takes a technically savvy team to use, and it?s not priced for a "me too" title. For a single title [6] license, we charge a $250,000 guarantee against a 5% royalty of the wholesale [7] price for the title. Not cheap, but it pays for itself with the marketing cach? alone.

If you are interested in the QUAKE III Arena technology and would like to experiment with it before contacting us, simply purchase a copy of the game, then download the game source and tools from our technology downloads page.

Our technology is unsurpassed in the number of operating systems that it operates under. All of these are included with any of the licenses. For example, when you license the QUAKE III Arena engine, you get Mac and Linux in addition to the PC for no extra up-front cost. You?ll also have the ability to use the Dreamcast port of the engine without additional up-front cost, as well as any other operating system or console ports for which we own the source code. Both the QUAKE and QUAKE II engines have similar features and cross-platform functionality.
QIII may go GPL soon, but this doesn't mean that the DC source will also go GPL. All that article is saying is that if you purchase the QIII engine license, you get access to the other platform code at no extra cost.
User avatar
Segata Sanshiro
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu
Posts: 686
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2003 3:23 pm
Location: the future
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Segata Sanshiro » Mon Mar 21, 2005 7:25 am

QIII may go GPL soon
I've heard that rumor almost a year ago, lets keep our fingers crossed.
All that article is saying is that if you purchase the QIII engine license, you get access to the other platform code at no extra cost.

And isn't the source code for one of the best looking DC titles with online capabilities important news??

I think the price of the licence should be a lot cheaper now. Anyway ID looks like nice company toward indie game devvers, and with such an enormous and devoted Dreamcast community, if we write to them (i mean someone that knows what he's taking about, not exactly me ;) ), we could have their attention and could profit from this. I don't mean free Dev kits for anyone, but maybe some advice from the pros or a decent price for a community funded project. I remember the interview with John Carmac (in Gamers-Republic magazine vol.2 No.4 September/1999) there he tells the story that in several occasions SEGA behaved like asses with ID about Q3 on the DC, generally not wanting to do it, then they wanted, then refused again... but he (John Carmac) wanted to do Q3 on the DC just because its a challenge and it would look and play well. That puts ID in somewhat positive light IMO.
It is possible to assemble a team for a real DC title, there are a lot of good programmers, musicians, designers, modellers and level designers on this forum, the only thing we need is enough will to fabricate a game. I know i have.

Anyway, i'm a newb to DC dev, so forgive me if i speak sh*t.
User avatar
Morphv2
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 230
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2004 1:36 pm
Location: Someplace
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Morphv2 » Mon Mar 21, 2005 12:02 pm

So what are you suggesting? Everyone email ID? I'm in, in that case.
User avatar
HomerCIDAL
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu
Posts: 530
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2005 1:24 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by HomerCIDAL » Thu Jun 02, 2005 5:11 pm

I also would like to see this happen. I know how to use GTK-Radiant/Q3Radiant/QERadiant editing tools and am still an active Quake 2 mapper. I would love to work on some DC exclusive gaming if it was possible using the Q3A engine.
User avatar
Imerion
Mental DCEmu
Mental DCEmu
Posts: 349
Joined: Thu May 27, 2004 4:32 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Imerion » Fri Jun 03, 2005 2:21 pm

If I have understood this right, its awesome! We might be able to do our own online games finally! That is HUGE news! Lets hope that source gets a release...
DARKHALO2K
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 161
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2003 6:37 pm
Has liked: 2 times
Been liked: 4 times

Post by DARKHALO2K » Sat Jun 04, 2005 2:43 am

...
Last edited by DARKHALO2K on Wed Apr 16, 2008 10:30 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
mankrip
DCEmu Ex-Mod
DCEmu Ex-Mod
Posts: 3700
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2001 5:12 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by mankrip » Sun Jun 05, 2005 1:55 pm

The source code of Doom for the SNES will never be released.
The source code of Doom for the GBA will never be released.
The source code of Doom for the 32X will never be released.
The source code of Doom for the Saturn will never be released.
The source code of Doom for the Playstation will never be released.
The source code of Doom 64 will never be released.
The source code of Quake for the Saturn will never be released.
The source code of Quake 64 will never be released.
The source code of QuakeDC will never be released.
The source code of Quake 2 for the Playstation will never be released.
The source code of Quake 2 for the Nintendo 64 will never be released.
The source code of Quake III Arena for the Playstation 2 will never be released.
The source code of Quake III Arena for the Dreamcast will never be released.

All ports of id Software games were ported using official SDKs, and were ported with/by other companies (for example, Sega developers were involved in the development of Q3A for DC), and because of this, they contain libraries, pieces of code, artwork and other elements that are not property of id Software.

id Software can not and will not put under the GPL any source code that isn't 100% their work.



Sorry for the harsh tone, but I don't know other way of making it clear enough to everyone.
Ph'nglui mglw'nafh mankrip Hell's end wgah'nagl fhtagn.
==-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-==
Dev blog / Twitter / YouTube
Image
pb2ya
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 120
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2003 5:08 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by pb2ya » Sat Jul 30, 2005 3:41 pm

I really think someone should email ID and ask them about this... it's the only way to know for sure.
BlackAura
DC Developer
DC Developer
Posts: 9951
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2001 9:02 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by BlackAura » Sat Jul 30, 2005 11:27 pm

No point. When id do get around to releasing the source code for Q3, it should be possible to port it to the Dreamcast using KOS. Q3 seems to be far more resource efficient than Q2 and Q1 were, and has a lot of features that can be turned off to save resources, or to speed up rendering, almost all of which appear to be used by the official Dreamcast version.

Even if they did release the code for the DC version (which they can't, because they don't own it), it would not be useful. We couldn't use any of it because we're not using Sega's development kits.
bender
Mental DCEmu
Mental DCEmu
Posts: 399
Joined: Sun May 12, 2002 4:18 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by bender » Sun Jul 31, 2005 1:31 pm

If they release their dc source code under the GPL it would be legal to modify that source and distribute it under the GPL (without the binaries). Anybody who owns the devkit officially, could compile his binaries.
I know this doesn't sound very good, because at the end people will use pirated versions of the sdk for getting their binaries (and probably those binaries could end in a p2p program as all those many pirated games), but the real thing it's that it'd be legal to distribute that source code under the GPL.

About the official devkit probably there's no worth os using it (not for linux users at least ;-) ) but also i think that it would be really interesting to know what sega says about distributing actually binaries with their sdk for non profit.
Smurph
DCEmu Super Poster
DCEmu Super Poster
Posts: 1337
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 10:26 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Smurph » Sun Jul 31, 2005 2:23 pm

If ID were to GPL Q3, and if someone could get their hands on the Q3ADC source code through legal means, it might be possible to re-write the modem and BBA code (to ensure upmost legality, so it would not contain any ID code), and engineer our own libraries to be compatible (maybe someone who is licensed the katana devkit could do it?). Sure, it would be a lot of work, but wouldn't it be worth it in the end?
Image
User avatar
MetaFox
Adventure Gamer
Adventure Gamer
Posts: 2816
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 10 times
Contact:

Post by MetaFox » Sun Jul 31, 2005 3:06 pm

Sanitary Smurph wrote:If ID were to GPL Q3, and if someone could get their hands on the Q3ADC source code through legal means, it might be possible to re-write the modem and BBA code (to ensure upmost legality, so it would not contain any ID code), and engineer our own libraries to be compatible (maybe someone who is licensed the katana devkit could do it?). Sure, it would be a lot of work, but wouldn't it be worth it in the end?
For what purpose? KOS's modem and BBA code could be used with the GPL licensed Q3 sourcecode without even looking at the DC Q3A code.
Smurph
DCEmu Super Poster
DCEmu Super Poster
Posts: 1337
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 10:26 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Smurph » Sun Jul 31, 2005 4:48 pm

MetaFox wrote:
Sanitary Smurph wrote:If ID were to GPL Q3, and if someone could get their hands on the Q3ADC source code through legal means, it might be possible to re-write the modem and BBA code (to ensure upmost legality, so it would not contain any ID code), and engineer our own libraries to be compatible (maybe someone who is licensed the katana devkit could do it?). Sure, it would be a lot of work, but wouldn't it be worth it in the end?
For what purpose? KOS's modem and BBA code could be used with the GPL licensed Q3 sourcecode without even looking at the DC Q3A code.
I was under the impression that the homebrew modem/BBA stuff was somewhat incomplete.
Image
BlackAura
DC Developer
DC Developer
Posts: 9951
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2001 9:02 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by BlackAura » Sun Jul 31, 2005 9:03 pm

Sure, it would be a lot of work, but wouldn't it be worth it in the end?
No. The networking code that Quake 1 and 2 uses actually wouldn't need much modification to get it working on the Dreamcast (and I might have tried if I had a BBA, which I don't). The KOS networking API is pretty standard, so the only bits that really need changing are the initialisation bits (because you need to initialise the network hardware, rather than just assuming the operating system has done it all for you).
I was under the impression that the homebrew modem/BBA stuff was somewhat incomplete.
The BBA stuff works fine, and has done for years. The networking stack works just fine. The modem works fine, although only at 33Kbps. The only problem is that the networking stack doesn't work with the modem, although it works fine with a serial cable.
Smurph
DCEmu Super Poster
DCEmu Super Poster
Posts: 1337
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 10:26 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Smurph » Mon Aug 01, 2005 9:40 am

Oh. Nevermind then. :oops:
Image
Post Reply