Quake 2 source code released..

Talk about Quake, Doom, Wolfenstein 3D, or other DC first person shooting game ports and mods for those games in here.
Matt Wilson
DCEmu Crazy Poster
DCEmu Crazy Poster
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Quake 2 source code released..

Post by Matt Wilson » Fri Dec 21, 2001 10:38 pm

http://www.bluesnews.com

The source to Quake 2 has been released.

I know it may seem inconsequential, but perhaps it's something the QuakeDC team can look into. Unfortunately, the minimum RAM specs are 32 megs, but perhaps can optomizations can be made... And there are quite a few good mods out there for Q2 now..
biohazard
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 108
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2001 11:46 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

yeah!

Post by biohazard » Fri Dec 21, 2001 11:56 pm

Oh hell yeah! Ladies and gentlemen... START YOUR PORTING! :)
Quake 2 on DC? WHOO! DC will be the only console that has all 3 Quakes!
Time is money...
Tails Prower
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu
Posts: 597
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 10:21 am
Location: Maryland
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Tails Prower » Sat Dec 22, 2001 12:05 am

seems intersting... ive never played quake 2.
404NotFound wrote: hey mrinsulto or whatever your name is, for the last time
A DREAMCAST IS NOT A PLAYSTATION2!!!
Tails Prower
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu
Posts: 597
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 10:21 am
Location: Maryland
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Tails Prower » Sat Dec 22, 2001 12:06 am

seems intersting... ive never played quake 2.
404NotFound wrote: hey mrinsulto or whatever your name is, for the last time
A DREAMCAST IS NOT A PLAYSTATION2!!!
Gmc
DCEmu User with No Life
DCEmu User with No Life
Posts: 3446
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Location: England
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Gmc » Sat Dec 22, 2001 3:13 am

Quake II on DC....now THAT would rule!

Come on, SOMEONE has GOT to port this!
Jelly_Warrior
DCEmu Veteran
DCEmu Veteran
Posts: 111
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Location: Australia
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Jelly_Warrior » Sat Dec 22, 2001 3:15 am

Quake 3 was ported to the DC so why not Quake 2?

I can hardly wait, someones definatley gonna do this!
Sub Woofer
DCEmu Cop
DCEmu Cop
Posts: 466
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Location: Australia Mate!
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Sub Woofer » Sat Dec 22, 2001 4:44 am

Wouldn't get your hopes up, It's not as simple as it sounds.

My bets on there is a lot of ASM in that code, and the original Quake (which was ported by Titanium Studio's) was actually done by a proffesional company using the official Devkits to show Sega Developers what it was capable of (something along those lines.)

Although I'd LOVE to see it on the dreamcast, I wouldn't bet money on it.

Hopefully a knowledged coder will be able to give us his insight on whether it is possible or not.
Image

Spiderman! Spiderman! Friendy Neighbourhood Spiderman!
Spins a web... any size..... catches thiefs, just like flies!
WATCH OUT... here comes the Spiderman!
Jelly_Warrior
DCEmu Veteran
DCEmu Veteran
Posts: 111
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Location: Australia
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Jelly_Warrior » Sat Dec 22, 2001 7:55 am

But I'd still love to see it!

I'm sure that there are heaps of talented people out of there that could pull it off!

Look at it this way, sure these people managed to "PORT" the code but the authors of emulators should find it to be a piece of cake considering that some of them can make their own emulator up from scratch (I know that most of them are ports of PC emulators) so these people could surely port a PC game to DC.

Imagine the programming job prospects for someone that could port Quake 2 sucessfully to the DC!
crt0
DC Developer
DC Developer
Posts: 290
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

...

Post by crt0 » Sat Dec 22, 2001 9:38 am

I've looked through the source code. Out of all the assembly code that is included in the archive, I don't think one line of it is actually [b]necessary[/b]. I [b]think[/b] there is a C version of every assembly language function provided in the code. That means the renderer and everything should be somewhat portable. But I highly doubt this would be a quick/easy project for anyone.
Dr Wily
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Dr Wily » Sat Dec 22, 2001 11:21 am

hmmm.

Well, theres a Quake 2 model loader application available for KOS, which means someones already done some of the work on making 3D models render correctly on the DC... so if someone wanted to take this up they probably have had a little work already saved for them
perry
Tha DCEmu Pimp Daddy
Tha DCEmu Pimp Daddy
Posts: 5492
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2001 4:29 pm
Location: Goodison Park
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by perry » Sat Dec 22, 2001 12:31 pm

i dont know if this can be done or not (i'm only 15, i started learning c the other week) but if it can..................

woa i would love to have all three quakes ready playable on DC it would make life sooooooooo more enjoyable.....
In the words of Q-Tip : Looking for vibes or positivity, not negativity / 'Cause we gotta strive for longevity by online gaming
Schnapple
DCEmu Ex-Mod
DCEmu Ex-Mod
Posts: 198
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Location: College Station, TX
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Schnapple » Sat Dec 22, 2001 3:56 pm

I've pilfered through the code just a smidge. Like all id games, it's 90-95% C (not C++) code, with 5-10% ASM code. Ergo, with some rewriting it's theoretically possible. However, it's not for wimps. Like it has been mentioned the Quake source was ported by people with full dev kit access and of course Quake 3 was a commercial game. Finally realize that one of the things Titanium Studios had to do was to pitch out the OpenGL renderer and go with Direct3D for the WindowsCE nature of their port.

I'd offhand say crt0 would be the one to do it (since he did such a badass job with DOOM) but we'll see...
Matt Wilson
DCEmu Crazy Poster
DCEmu Crazy Poster
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Matt Wilson » Sat Dec 22, 2001 4:23 pm

Well, I like to keep people up to date on big name source code releases, since they seem to be the most requested ports.
.:ajay:.
Old Git
Old Git
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 11:46 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by .:ajay:. » Sun Dec 23, 2001 1:48 pm

As much as Q2 on the dreamcast would be cool, it's, imho, the weakest of the 3 quake games, so if you've got DcQuake and Quake3arena you've already got the best of quake-gaming.

Having said that, let's hope someone picks up the ball, I agree crt0 seems the man to do it, whether he's got the time, motivation or willingness after the stuff he went through with doom, would be another matter i guess.

If he did, then we'd have to knight him / pay him lots of money / grant him sexual flavours. (crt0, please delete as appropriate)
Holly Hasney
DCEmu Respected
DCEmu Respected
Posts: 577
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Location: Daventry, UK
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Holly Hasney » Sun Dec 23, 2001 1:52 pm

/me demands the return of porting requests forum..... :roll:
perry
Tha DCEmu Pimp Daddy
Tha DCEmu Pimp Daddy
Posts: 5492
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2001 4:29 pm
Location: Goodison Park
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by perry » Sun Dec 23, 2001 5:55 pm

/me agrees with HH

(i wasnt here when there was one like but it sounds like a c 8) 8) l idea!)
In the words of Q-Tip : Looking for vibes or positivity, not negativity / 'Cause we gotta strive for longevity by online gaming
Tails Prower
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu
Posts: 597
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 10:21 am
Location: Maryland
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Tails Prower » Sun Dec 23, 2001 8:21 pm

/me also agrees with HH, id really like to see Segasonic Arcade ported to the dc lol.
404NotFound wrote: hey mrinsulto or whatever your name is, for the last time
A DREAMCAST IS NOT A PLAYSTATION2!!!
Holly Hasney
DCEmu Respected
DCEmu Respected
Posts: 577
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Location: Daventry, UK
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Holly Hasney » Mon Dec 24, 2001 2:21 am

...sarcasm not wasted then? :roll:
Dr Zoidberg
The Filth
The Filth
Posts: 1181
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Dr Zoidberg » Mon Dec 24, 2001 8:15 am

Hollywood Hasney wrote: /me demands the return of porting requests forum..... :roll:
We have one already, it's called the Null/Junk forum.
Van_Lardo
DCEmu Hanger On
DCEmu Hanger On
Posts: 248
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Location: Scotland, UK
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Van_Lardo » Mon Dec 24, 2001 11:56 am

Hmmm... I still have to wonder about the amount of conjecture thrown around here. There seems to be too many people thinking "Merry Christmas!!! Quake 2!!!" and not "Merry Christmas 2002!!! Quake 2!!!"...

Altough I am quietly wetting myself in anticipation of seeing what one of the talented coders out there will be able to pull off with Quake 2 on DC, I also have to stress to everyone that when someone says "it should be relatively easy", they actually mean "WAIT!!! It's gonna be a while!!!"

How long did we, the humble Dreamcast users wait for DoomDC? The source has only just been released for Quake 2 (and I bet we'll get a LOT of hoax-ports as well!!!)... Just be patient, My Young Apprentices...
Image http://www.geocities.com/vanlardo HELP! I CAN'T POST ANY MORE MESSAGES! I KEEP GETTING MESSAGES TELLING ME TO COME BACK LATER!
Post Reply