ROTT DC released

Talk about Quake, Doom, Wolfenstein 3D, or other DC first person shooting game ports and mods for those games in here.
Post Reply
bero
DC Developer
DC Developer
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2002 11:35 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by bero » Fri Feb 14, 2003 1:42 am

to recompile, needs zlib and SDL bug fix in kos-1.1.9
see this patch
http://sourceforge.net/tracker/?atid=37 ... unc=browse
Rambozo
DCEmu Junior
DCEmu Junior
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2002 9:35 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Rambozo » Fri Feb 14, 2003 2:07 am

bero wrote:>Bero - Does it work with the full version

binary release works only shareware version.
to run full version, need recompile.
but I don't have full version. so I don't checked.

I will add auto determin routine in single binary such as Hexen II.

does anyone know CD-ROM directory structure?
Will you consider making it fullscreen, and somehow smoothing the framerate when turning? And the L R triggers should strafe. Just for you to consider, that's all.
BlackAura
DC Developer
DC Developer
Posts: 9951
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2001 9:02 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by BlackAura » Fri Feb 14, 2003 2:14 am

bero wrote:binary release works only shareware version.
to run full version, need recompile.
but I don't have full version. so I don't checked
I thought so. I'll give it a look, and see if it works properly.
XDelusion
Psychotic MOD
Psychotic MOD
Posts: 915
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Location: Ohio
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by XDelusion » Fri Feb 14, 2003 2:43 am

Hey Bero, thankx for the port.



Now about the controls.

One thing that would greatly help, but is prolly not possible would be Free Look, but until that day comes, here is what I would suggest for the Joypad controls:

L and R triggers for Strafe.
X run
A fire

As for looking up and down, I guess you could hold one of the other free buttons down?

Then of course we need to fly...

Also weapons change would be great!!!

I tried it with my keyboard and mouse, but could not look from side to side with the mouse. :/
reaper2k2
DC Developer
DC Developer
Posts: 2648
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2002 7:48 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by reaper2k2 » Fri Feb 14, 2003 2:46 am

WHAT are you talkiing about its as smooth as silk no slow down or any thing

I use to play this game on a 386 if you think this game run's any better its not how it should run it was made for a 386,486 max


this version is 100% like it was on the machine it was made for

like i siad i can recompile it and add the changes ive got it runing on the dc after recompiling it and i used my compiler settings and SDL_FAST lib i made and its super fast to the point of beeing silly you be happy with that one then you turn so fast your looking behind your self before you looking forward it so fast its unplayable and i cant get the controls to work right some think in my version of SDL or the routine i wrote to get it to compile for me might of done it

OR my compiler setting is stop the controls again dont know not really fussed it's bero's port

I commend bero on a perfect job IM using THE REAL first shareware editon that came on flopys that may make. it more smooth but ive seen no slow down or choppyness i might have to upload the old sharware editon i have it was for a 386 editon it works perfect fast nice smooth ok

THAT why i got no idea what your on about its smooth as silk for me
http://homebrew.dcemulation.com/dcgames/ *homebrew webbrowser games *

http://r2k2gate.topcities.com *dev site and my releases*
Image
Im' a Commodorian are you?
Lartrak
DCEmu Respected
DCEmu Respected
Posts: 6166
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2002 9:28 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Lartrak » Fri Feb 14, 2003 3:29 am

A run button shouldn't really be needed with this type of game on an analog stick - just make the first 75% of sensitivity walking, and the rest running (or gradual speed increase I guess, if that is possible). Frees up a button for, say, 180 degree turn?

The one thing I am hoping for is split screen. That more then anything, easily.

Don't honestly expect to ever get it though :(

Thanks Bero! I haven't tried this yet though, running low on CD-Rs. Gonna wait til I don't have to bother to recompile (I know I'd botch it) to get my full version working.
cybdmn
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 122
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2003 7:15 pm
Location: Germany
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by cybdmn » Fri Feb 14, 2003 5:01 am

bero wrote:>Bero - Does it work with the full version

binary release works only shareware version.
to run full version, need recompile.
but I don't have full version. so I don't checked.

I will add auto determin routine in single binary such as Hexen II.

does anyone know CD-ROM directory structure?
There are much more than just shareware or full version.
I explained what every versions meaning is in another thread.

http://www.dcemulation.org/phpBB/viewto ... 1&start=40

To get the Lasersoft Deluxe Edition of te shareware running maybe you must rename huntbgn2.rtl to huntbgin.rtl.
The .rtc files containing comm-bat only levels.

I have played ROTT many times, but i don't ever needed a freelook, cause you automatic look up/down if a enemy is over/below.

What would make the port great, would be the ability to load user levels.
So the Extreme ROTT levels can be played, wich are free downloadable at 3D Realms since that pack is discontinued. Same as Lasersoft Edition of The hunt begins.
...where the sanest place is behind a trigger
Rambozo
DCEmu Junior
DCEmu Junior
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2002 9:35 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Rambozo » Fri Feb 14, 2003 11:01 am

reaper2k2 wrote:WHAT are you talkiing about its as smooth as silk no slow down or any thing

I use to play this game on a 386 if you think this game run's any better its not how it should run it was made for a 386,486 max


this version is 100% like it was on the machine it was made for

like i siad i can recompile it and add the changes ive got it runing on the dc after recompiling it and i used my compiler settings and SDL_FAST lib i made and its super fast to the point of beeing silly you be happy with that one then you turn so fast your looking behind your self before you looking forward it so fast its unplayable and i cant get the controls to work right some think in my version of SDL or the routine i wrote to get it to compile for me might of done it

OR my compiler setting is stop the controls again dont know not really fussed it's bero's port

I commend bero on a perfect job IM using THE REAL first shareware editon that came on flopys that may make. it more smooth but ive seen no slow down or choppyness i might have to upload the old sharware editon i have it was for a 386 editon it works perfect fast nice smooth ok

THAT why i got no idea what your on about its smooth as silk for me
I'm not saying it's not like the version on PC, I'm saying it could be better. Stand still in a level (particularly a wide open area) and turn slowly. It's choppy. And surely you don't deny that it's not running in fullscreen?
BobBorakovitz
DCEmu Freak
DCEmu Freak
Posts: 75
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by BobBorakovitz » Fri Feb 14, 2003 1:09 pm

anyone get the full version working???
I've killed the SW already... :(

also....this runs great....it just needs a bit of control tweaking...

thanx for everything
User avatar
zektor
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by zektor » Fri Feb 14, 2003 4:13 pm

I love to get the full version working as well. I've had my orginal disks since the game was released...god I loved this game!
http://csdb.dk/scener/?id=3455 - Me (circa 1991), Dice/NTT!
tom61a
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 248
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2002 3:36 pm
Location: USA
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by tom61a » Fri Feb 14, 2003 5:00 pm

I will add auto determin routine in single binary such as Hexen II.

does anyone know CD-ROM directory structure?
Full version installed to HD:
DARKWAR.RTC
DARKWAR.RTL
DARKWAR.WAD
DEMO1_3.DMO
DEMO2_3.DMO
DEMO3_3.DMO
DEMO4_3.DMO
HUNTBGIN.RTC
HUNTBGIN.RTL
LICENSE.DOC
MODEM.PCK
RANDROTT.EXE
RANDROTT.RTR
REMOTE1.RTS
ROTT.EXE
ROTTCD.EXE
ROTTCD.RTC
ROTTHELP.EXE
ROTTIPX.EXE
ROTTSER.EXE
SETUP.EXE
SNDSETUP.EXE
ROTTERR.TXT

No directories save for the one holding those files.

The run from CD directory for the full version is named 'rottplay' (could be usefull with disk swap in the DC version), and contains the following files:
DARKWAR.RTC
DARKWAR.RTL
DARKWAR.WAD
DEMO1_3.DMO
DEMO2_3.DMO
DEMO3_3.DMO
DEMO4_3.DMO
GUSMIDI.INI
HUNTBGIN.RTC
HUNTBGIN.RTL
LICENSE.DOC
MODEM.PCK
REMOTE1.RTS
ROTT.EXE
ROTTCD.EXE
ROTTCD.RTC
ROTTHELP.EXE
ROTTIPX.EXE
ROTTSER.EXE
SETUP.EXE
SNDSETUP.EXE

No directories below Rottplay. I used to play the game from CD on my harddisk space starved 486.
reaper2k2
DC Developer
DC Developer
Posts: 2648
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2002 7:48 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by reaper2k2 » Fri Feb 14, 2003 8:00 pm

IT's not fullscreen but thats easy to fix take me a few mins at the most


but its not mine dont want to update things that the author can do better if he wishes
http://homebrew.dcemulation.com/dcgames/ *homebrew webbrowser games *

http://r2k2gate.topcities.com *dev site and my releases*
Image
Im' a Commodorian are you?
Rambozo
DCEmu Junior
DCEmu Junior
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2002 9:35 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Rambozo » Fri Feb 14, 2003 10:36 pm

reaper2k2 wrote:IT's not fullscreen but thats easy to fix take me a few mins at the most


but its not mine dont want to update things that the author can do better if he wishes
I only want four fixes:

-Smoother refresh rate when turning (Take a look if you don't believe me)

-Fullscreen

-L and R triggers used for strafing

-Analogue control, though 75% of the range is for walking, you have to push all the way for running

This is SO close to being my dream port it's not even funny. I just want to see ROTT released in a way that anyone can play on their DC and it will be perfect in every way. :-)
XDelusion
Psychotic MOD
Psychotic MOD
Posts: 915
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Location: Ohio
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by XDelusion » Fri Feb 14, 2003 11:30 pm

Ya, what the heck am I thinking, screw the run button, use analog, nxDOOM should have tought me that much at least! :)

Rambozo, did you make up your name or did you get that from the song Lard did?
Rambozo
DCEmu Junior
DCEmu Junior
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2002 9:35 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by Rambozo » Fri Feb 14, 2003 11:57 pm

XDelusion wrote:Ya, what the heck am I thinking, screw the run button, use analog, nxDOOM should have tought me that much at least! :)

Rambozo, did you make up your name or did you get that from the song Lard did?

Got it half from the song by Dead Kennedys, and half from that character in Time Bandits. Great movie, that...
XDelusion
Psychotic MOD
Psychotic MOD
Posts: 915
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Location: Ohio
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by XDelusion » Sat Feb 15, 2003 1:24 am

That's right it was a Dead Kennedys song, Lard wrote Bozo Skeleton.
That movie ruls by the way, infact my girl friend just bought that for me for my birth day.

In case you are wondering who the hell Lard is, it is Ministry with Jello Biafra (lead singer of the Dead Kennedys). You should check them out, they are great, but then so is everything Jello has recorded. :)
User avatar
burnerO
DC Developer
DC Developer
Posts: 801
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by burnerO » Sat Feb 15, 2003 3:01 am

I couldn't get either the DJ or Nero image to extract, so I ended up building a Sbi from the plain files. This should work fine, but if someone would test it, I'd be grateful. The download is right at 7mb, and includes the shareware episode and midi instruments.

http://consolevision.com/members/burnero/misc/Rott.sbi
law56ker
DCEmu Cool Poster
DCEmu Cool Poster
Posts: 1029
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by law56ker » Sat Feb 15, 2003 5:40 am

Hey bero are you going work on the "AlephOne" project anymore? that game looks great.
Veggita2099
Janitor 2nd Class
Janitor 2nd Class
Posts: 9018
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Location: Chesapeake, Ohio
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Post by Veggita2099 » Sat Feb 15, 2003 11:22 am

I got this game coming in the mail. Looks like I am going to have to hook my DC up again.
Wii number: 1227 6854 1080 3665
bero
DC Developer
DC Developer
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2002 11:35 am
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0
Contact:

Post by bero » Sat Feb 15, 2003 2:11 pm

tom61a wrote:
The run from CD directory for the full version is named 'rottplay' (could be usefull with disk swap in the DC version), and contains the following files:
thx.

\rotplay\
+-- game datas
Post Reply