DCEmulation

dreamcast development • homebrew software • hardware hacking • indie games • emulators • and more!
Back to main site
It is currently Tue Jan 16, 2018 12:21 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 95 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Finally
PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2004 3:57 pm 
Offline
Soul Sold for DCEmu
Soul Sold for DCEmu

Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2003 3:48 pm
Posts: 4235
Location: By my PC Hair:Bad
I found a fully english guide on overclocking the DC.

Here

Odsen't look tooo tricky


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2004 4:49 pm 
Offline
DCEmu Ultra Fan
DCEmu Ultra Fan
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2003 6:33 pm
Posts: 3061
Location: In a van, down by the river.
Nice find.
But still, my question is, why would you want to do this?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2004 4:58 pm 
Offline
DCEmu Ultra Poster
DCEmu Ultra Poster
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2004 5:29 pm
Posts: 1788
like mentioned on the site. homebrew (especially emulators) will be helped quite a bit. the guy mentioned on the site that his divx movies and DreamSNES both sped up somewhat. even some of the original commercial games that lagged a bit sped up.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2004 6:16 pm 
Offline
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2004 6:42 pm
Posts: 615
Location: ks
wow the jap site made it look really complicated. is it really that easy? (i'm not going to do it of course but it does look easy)

_________________
wont u be my friend?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2004 6:41 pm 
Offline
DCEmu Mega Poster
DCEmu Mega Poster

Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2002 2:58 pm
Posts: 1474
Location: Michigan
Nice... Thanks mattthemodder!

_________________
Why doesn't HTML work anymore on this damn forum!? God!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2004 6:48 pm 
Offline
DCEmu Mega Poster
DCEmu Mega Poster

Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2002 2:58 pm
Posts: 1474
Location: Michigan
Wait, i'm confused... Where do I pull the 40Mhx signal from? The guide doesn't say... i can't pull the 54Mhz signal fromthe graphics CPU or it will definatly run HOT, or break! Where is the 40 Mhz at?

_________________
Why doesn't HTML work anymore on this damn forum!? God!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2004 7:11 pm 
Offline
DCEmu Super Fan
DCEmu Super Fan

Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 11:11 pm
Posts: 2498
Location: United States
It's on the clock chip, 3rd pin down. The 1st pin is the graphics clock. You have to pull the 40 mhz signal from what I presume to be another clock, not on the DC.

_________________
Very sexy hero, omg


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2004 7:49 pm 
Offline
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 6:52 am
Posts: 164
i would try this but i only have one dc and dont wanna break it


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2004 10:39 pm 
Offline
DCEmu Veteran
DCEmu Veteran

Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2002 6:01 pm
Posts: 4306
Location: San Jose
So overclocking helps with homebrew and emulators? IT doesnt shorten the Dreamcasts life?

_________________
:headbang: Dreamcast :headbang:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2004 3:39 am 
Offline
Soul Sold for DCEmu
Soul Sold for DCEmu

Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2003 3:48 pm
Posts: 4235
Location: By my PC Hair:Bad
Quote:
So overclocking helps with homebrew and emulators?

Looks like it
Quote:
IT doesnt shorten the Dreamcasts life?

Depends how much of an overclock it is and how cool its running.

Quote:
i would try this but i only have one dc and dont wanna break it

Same, *Runs to Ebay*

_________________
My Audioscrobbler


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2004 3:52 am 
Offline
Dream Coder
Dream Coder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2002 10:14 pm
Posts: 7474
Location: Miami, FL
I'm lucky I have over 15 DC motherboards sitting in a box at home =P.

_________________
"When you post fewer lines of text than your signature, consider not posting at all." - A Wise Man


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2004 4:04 am 
Offline
Team Screamcast
Team Screamcast
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 6:17 am
Posts: 7953
Location: San Francisco, CA
I know this isn't the case quite so much any more, what in this modern age of lazy ports and easily-converted PC sourcebase (glares at many companies that have done obviously sloppy jobs in porting their work to GameCube), but don't a lot of commercial games rely on a console having predictable, "closed" specs for timing/sync issues? Wouldn't fiddling with those specs break compatibility with a lot of official releases?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2004 4:08 am 
Offline
Dream Coder
Dream Coder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2002 10:14 pm
Posts: 7474
Location: Miami, FL
DaMadFiddler wrote:
I know this isn't the case quite so much any more, what in this modern age of lazy ports and easily-converted PC sourcebase (glares at many companies that have done obviously sloppy jobs in porting their work to GameCube), but don't a lot of commercial games rely on a console having predictable, "closed" specs for timing/sync issues? Wouldn't fiddling with those specs break compatibility with a lot of official releases?


yes. very much so. the idea though would be to have a compatability switch so that games not working with the overclock can be run correctly.

_________________
"When you post fewer lines of text than your signature, consider not posting at all." - A Wise Man


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2004 7:45 am 
Offline
Adventure Gamer
Adventure Gamer

Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 5:44 pm
Posts: 2767
riva16 wrote:
Wait, i'm confused... Where do I pull the 40Mhx signal from? The guide doesn't say... i can't pull the 54Mhz signal fromthe graphics CPU or it will definatly run HOT, or break! Where is the 40 Mhz at?
You have to buy a 40Mhz Quartz Crystal Resonator and attatch that to the third pin on the clock chip.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2004 9:38 am 
Offline
DCEmu Freak
DCEmu Freak

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 9:41 am
Posts: 55
Location: Portland, TX, USA
hearld500 wrote:
Nice find.
But still, my question is, why would you want to do this?

The true reason is becasue we can! :D


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2004 11:32 am 
Offline
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2004 11:36 am
Posts: 230
Location: Someplace
How do you affix a switch to it so as to switch the overclock on and off?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2004 11:51 am 
Offline
Adventure Gamer
Adventure Gamer

Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 5:44 pm
Posts: 2767
Morphv2 wrote:
How do you affix a switch to it so as to switch the overclock on and off?
The easiest way would be to solder a switch to the 3rd pin of the graphics chip and to the quartz. ON = 40 Mhz quartz (ie:
240Mhz) OFF = 3rd pin of graphics chip (ie: 200Mhz)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2004 4:09 pm 
Offline
DCEmu Mega Poster
DCEmu Mega Poster

Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2002 2:58 pm
Posts: 1474
Location: Michigan
I just looked at the translated version of the original site and i get it now... Cool... I'm shotting for 350 Mhz... Wish me luck!

_________________
Why doesn't HTML work anymore on this damn forum!? God!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2004 4:19 pm 
Offline
DCEmu Ultra Poster
DCEmu Ultra Poster
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2004 5:29 pm
Posts: 1788
:lol: but seriously, good luck. maybe if this becomes more mainstream and easy to do (maybe a modchip of some sort?) we could see some more homebrew that we couldnt before because of cpu limits.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2004 4:35 pm 
Offline
DCEmu Crazy Poster
DCEmu Crazy Poster
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 2:22 am
Posts: 34
i saw this site like 6 months ago but i would of thought you guys would have known about it already.

_________________
I was stupid enough to keep putting a warez link into my sig.. even after an admin removed it.. twice... I'm such a bloody moron. Oh well.. and now i'm banned too. boo hoo.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 95 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group