DCEmulation

dreamcast development • homebrew software • hardware hacking • indie games • emulators • and more!
Back to main site
It is currently Tue Jan 16, 2018 12:21 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2002 9:24 pm 
Offline
DCEmu Junior
DCEmu Junior

Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 5:44 pm
Posts: 39
Location: USA
This is the guide I wrote and posted awhile ago (and saved as a text file). If this helps, let me know.

what you will need
*a vmu/vms that needs power (vmu's run at 6v)
*four (4) "AAA" or "AA" batteries (to supply the total of 6v)
*a battery holder with red and black wires (easily found at Radio Shack; just make sure
you get the right one for the type of batteries you plan on using and that all connectors
are in place)
*some fun tak/poster adhesive or tape to keep the wires in place while testing
*a more permanent and/or secure way to attach the wires to the proper points

what to keep in mind
*"AAA", and especially "AA", batteries will add up in weight and cost as you will have
to use four at a time. Decide for yourself if this is worth it.
*the date and time information will be lost every time you disconnect your power supply from
the vmu. This means that to keep date/time info current, you have to keep the batteries
connected at all times! This most definitely cuts down on the portability of the unit.
Not only that, but if you have more than one vmu that you want to keep current, you'll need
a power supply unit (battery holder plus 4 batteries) for each unit! Costly...
*In writing this guide, I am basing the information on my own experiences with trying this.
I am not implying that I am the first to try or write about it, but hopefully, if there are
guides already (which, before writing this second version, I heard that there are), then this
will be useful in any ways that the others were not.
*This can be freely distributed as long as it is unaltered and credit is given.
*Neither I nor anyone on this site can or will be held responsible for any damage done
by performing this (simple) procedure.

what to do
1 - put your batteries (use new ones for testing) correctly in the battery holder
2 - remove the battery cover from the vmu (use a phillips or "+" head screwdriver)
3 - take the black wire from the battery holder and connect the exposed tip to the flap
at the bottom of the vmu battery holder (I suggest lightly lifting the flap and sliding
the wire underneath. Secure...)
4 - take the red wire from the battery holder and connect the exposed tip to the hook on the
side of the vmu battery holder (this is a little tricky, but persitence will prevail)
5 - if you haven't already disconnected the speaker wires, the vmu should beep when the
power supply is connected correctly (if not, be sure NOT to skip the next step)
6 - with the wires in place, use the fun tak or tape to keep the wires from moving. Now
slowly turn the vmu so the screen faces you. If done correctly, your vmu should now be asking
you "Mamma? Dadda? What am I?" (Seriously, it will be asking you to set the date and time).
7 - now that you have confirmed that this is working and given yourself a pat on the back,
decide on how you would like to keep the wires secure. This is up to you.
8 - enjoy!

*update* hooking up a 9v battery to the vmu has worked for me very well, so if that is something you'd rather do, go for it.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2002 1:36 am 
Offline
DCEmu Cop
DCEmu Cop

Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 5:44 pm
Posts: 466
Location: Australia Mate!
Hey, I moved this to its own seperate topic, so I can link to it in the FAQ

Thankyou very much for taking the time to post this! its one of the most usefull hardware mods out there!

_________________
Image

Spiderman! Spiderman! Friendy Neighbourhood Spiderman!
Spins a web... any size..... catches thiefs, just like flies!
WATCH OUT... here comes the Spiderman!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2002 10:22 am 
Offline
Mental DCEmu
Mental DCEmu

Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2002 5:01 pm
Posts: 360
hey i did the same thing but i would change something

When you connect the wires to the VMU instead of putting them under the little metal connectors loosen the screws holiding them in place loop the exposed wire around the screw and tightenthis will make for a very good hold

also make the wire a little long and use velcro to secure the VMU to the batterypack place a peice of velcro on the bottom of the controller this way when you put the vmu in the controller you dont have to disconnect the battery pack


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2002 9:00 pm 
Offline
Symbiotic Anomaly
Symbiotic Anomaly

Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2001 11:50 pm
Posts: 1234
Location: Portland, OR, USA
How many milliamps do the VMUs require...
...or how many milliamps do the two DL2032s provide, rather?

_________________
I'm not Clessoulis. Seriously.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2002 9:01 pm 
Offline
DCEmu Junior
DCEmu Junior

Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 5:44 pm
Posts: 39
Location: USA
Sub Woofer, thank you for the thank you, and infinite-nothing, thank you for the suggestions. After all, some of the greatest ideas start off small by one, and grow and develop by many (sorry if I sound a little philisophical, but I wouldn't say it unless I meant it). MidnightObsidian, as for your question, I don't know the answer, but considering that replacement power sources (AAA x 4 and AA x 4 batteries at 1.5v, and 9v batteries) have been found and tested as sucessful and safe, most people here won't care for this specific case (no offense).


To the rest of you, keep the ideas (for all projects) coming!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 30, 2002 3:38 am 
Offline
Hardware Freak
Hardware Freak

Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2001 2:45 pm
Posts: 3246
I got some values for VMU power consumption in another topic ( http://www.dcemulation.org/phpBB/viewtopic.php?t=4404 ) if this is of any use to battery users.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2002 9:03 pm 
Offline
Symbiotic Anomaly
Symbiotic Anomaly

Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2001 11:50 pm
Posts: 1234
Location: Portland, OR, USA
Thank you VERY much 16bm-- this is exactly what I was planning on doing, except the thought of using a headphone jack had never even come to my mind... slick.

_________________
I'm not Clessoulis. Seriously.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 03, 2002 1:09 pm 
Offline
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie

Joined: Fri May 03, 2002 12:39 pm
Posts: 2
Well, I did this to my VMU a while ago, so its cool that others thought of it too. I'd like to add my experiences:

First: The Radio shack battery packs are great, I got this really slim one for AAA, fully enclosed so no chance of them falling out. But there are two problems. One, the pack has an on off switch, I just ducttaped over it though. Second, the PVC tubing is brittle, and cracks easily, exposing the wires.

Second: Cut a couple small slits in the bottom edge of the battery door. That way the wires don't get crushed.

Third: This mod isn't worth jack unless you buy rechargable AAAs. I reccomend the Rayovac Alkalines, as I've been using them since the days of the GB pocket. They last long, and charge fast.

Fourth: People think this is a cool thing, and I've made a pretty penny doing this mod for others.

Oh, and doing this makes the guys at Software Etc./Babbages think you're really cool.

_________________
mmmm......Dreamcast........


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 03, 2002 1:10 pm 
Offline
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie

Joined: Fri May 03, 2002 12:39 pm
Posts: 2
I use Duct tape to secure mine, btw.

(Yeah, I accidently hit submit twice and I'm trying to cover for it)

_________________
mmmm......Dreamcast........


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 08, 2002 7:05 pm 
Offline
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu

Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2002 10:59 pm
Posts: 746
Location: the internet
If anyone has any questions on this, post them and I will try to answer (I did write this tutorial after all). Of course, if I don't know the answer or don't check the boards in a while, I'm sure someone else will be able to help (we have some pretty smart people here, y'know :wink: )

Just thought I should offer 8)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 03, 2002 8:22 pm 
Offline
DCEmu Cool Poster
DCEmu Cool Poster

Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2002 1:25 pm
Posts: 1160
Location: New Jersey
Have u ever tried using a 9V battery? Its sort of smaller than a 4-pack of AAs. I've tried it and it works out perfectly.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 03, 2002 10:34 pm 
Offline
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu

Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2002 10:59 pm
Posts: 746
Location: the internet
compacho,
Yes, I have used (and still do use) a 9v battery for the VMU, but if you don't believe me, my former self confirmed this with an update at the bottom of the original post 8)

p.s. welcome to the boards!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 04, 2002 9:31 am 
Offline
DCEmu Ultra Poster
DCEmu Ultra Poster

Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 9:58 pm
Posts: 1938
Location: Sigma 957
compacho wrote:
Have u ever tried using a 9V battery? Its sort of smaller than a 4-pack of AAs. I've tried it and it works out perfectly.


Be careful, though. Don't use a 9v on any VMU you're particularly fond of.

The one I tried it with for only a couple of minutes is now experiencing...difficulties. Whenever the system turns on, the familliar no-battery beep is only half the duration it should be.

More importantly, if it is inserted into slot 2 on any controller, that controller and anything inserted into it are unrecognized. Funny enough, if I swap the positions of the VMUs in that controller so that the one that I had tried the 9v with is in slot 1, it works perfectly.

Doesn't matter to me, as that particular VMU is only going to be in the slot 1 of a second controller anyways, but just so you know that it could happen...

_________________
Image
Can you survive Darwin's Blade? Sign up Today


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 07, 2002 12:48 pm 
Offline
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu

Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2002 10:59 pm
Posts: 746
Location: the internet
Thanks for the info. the vmu I have attached to the 9v always ends up in slot one anyway, so I never noticed the lack of recognition. My theory as to why this happens is that the extra 3 volts (remember that a vmu's minimum required voltage is 6v) conflicts with the voltages coming in to power the jump pack and that screws up the maple bus chip, thus disabling it.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 07, 2002 2:02 pm 
Offline
DCEmu Ultra Poster
DCEmu Ultra Poster

Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 9:58 pm
Posts: 1938
Location: Sigma 957
revengeofLaEternal wrote:
Thanks for the info. the vmu I have attached to the 9v always ends up in slot one anyway, so I never noticed the lack of recognition. My theory as to why this happens is that the extra 3 volts (remember that a vmu's minimum required voltage is 6v) conflicts with the voltages coming in to power the jump pack and that screws up the maple bus chip, thus disabling it.


Now if only it wasn't permanently affected by this, even after the 9v battery is removed...


The VMU I used never even touched a controller until after the battery was removed, at which point I noticed the problem.

You're right, it probably has something to do with the 2nd slot and jump pack connectivity not liking whatever effect the 9v had on it, though.


[Edit] Wait a minute.... that was my 500th post... Ahh....the psychosis has finally set in...;)

_________________
Image
Can you survive Darwin's Blade? Sign up Today


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 08, 2002 2:07 pm 
Offline
Yes, that's right I'm a
Yes, that's right I'm a

Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2002 2:05 pm
Posts: 537
Location: Toronto, Canada
this is probablyt he only mod I'll ever do, it's actually useful! Can someone please up a pic of what the finished product looks like before I start this mod?

_________________
Another great and interesting post brought to you by the DoughBoy!

P.S. I'm looking for A Turbo Express, PM me if you got one.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: AA/AAA batteries?
PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2002 4:32 pm 
Offline
DCEmu Junior
DCEmu Junior

Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2002 4:12 pm
Posts: 37
Location: tucson
Mind me if this sounds stupid but couldnt you just buy a 6v adapter cut off the end connector split the wires strip them and connect them to the -/+ inputs on the vmu. no worry for batteries unless your on the go.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: AA/AAA batteries?
PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2002 4:39 pm 
Offline
DCEmu Ultra Poster
DCEmu Ultra Poster

Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 9:58 pm
Posts: 1938
Location: Sigma 957
Chane2k1 wrote:
Mind me if this sounds stupid but couldnt you just buy a 6v adapter cut off the end connector split the wires strip them and connect them to the -/+ inputs on the vmu. no worry for batteries unless your on the go.


But it also means you have to disassemble the VMU to disconnect the adapter (unless you put convenient connectors in for it). People do this because it still retains portability, they want anything that will last longer and be more easily replaced than the CR2030s it's designed to use.

_________________
Image
Can you survive Darwin's Blade? Sign up Today


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 10, 2002 1:20 pm 
Offline
Yes, that's right I'm a
Yes, that's right I'm a

Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2002 2:05 pm
Posts: 537
Location: Toronto, Canada
will noone up a pic of this finished???????

_________________
Another great and interesting post brought to you by the DoughBoy!

P.S. I'm looking for A Turbo Express, PM me if you got one.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 10, 2002 4:30 pm 
Offline
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu

Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2002 10:59 pm
Posts: 746
Location: the internet
I have a pic of my vmu with the 9v battery attached, but I don't have a way of posting it (maybe I'll figure out something). Any ideas?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group