DCEmulation

The Dreamcast Homebrew Community Online
Back to main site
It is currently Tue Jul 29, 2014 1:52 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 225 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 7:14 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 10:16 pm
Posts: 5772
Location: DCEvolution.net
Why don't you use the CDRecord method in BootDreams ? ;)

_________________
Insane homebrew collector.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 10:24 am 
Offline
DCEmu Cool Newbie
DCEmu Cool Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2007 9:01 pm
Posts: 14
Wellldo you know it WILL work? Because only have two CD-Rs left.

_________________
I have a life........I bought it on eBay.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 10:30 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 10:16 pm
Posts: 5772
Location: DCEvolution.net
It should work, yes. Either way, I would suggest to get another bunch of CDRs. You can never have enough of those =P

_________________
Insane homebrew collector.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 11:37 am 
Offline
DCEmu Cool Newbie
DCEmu Cool Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2007 9:01 pm
Posts: 14
True, but does anyone have a method that they know will work 100%?

_________________
I have a life........I bought it on eBay.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 1:31 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 10:16 pm
Posts: 5772
Location: DCEvolution.net
I know this method works 100%. I added a "should" to my previous statement because people tend to do something wrong the first time they try to burn a CDR for Dreamcast.

_________________
Insane homebrew collector.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 2:10 pm 
Offline
DCEmu Cool Newbie
DCEmu Cool Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2007 9:01 pm
Posts: 14
Well I burned it and it still didn't self boot.

_________________
I have a life........I bought it on eBay.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 3:43 pm 
Offline
DCEmu Commie
DCEmu Commie
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2003 9:47 pm
Posts: 3187
Location: Montevideo
In my experience cdrecord doesn't work for all drives. Try bin2boot.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 3:58 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 10:16 pm
Posts: 5772
Location: DCEvolution.net
DreaModder wrote:
Well I burned it and it still didn't self boot.


Well, some more information on what you did exactly would be helpful... ;)

_________________
Insane homebrew collector.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 7:18 pm 
Offline
DCEmu Cool Newbie
DCEmu Cool Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2007 9:01 pm
Posts: 14
NM, I got it to work. What I did was put all my unzipped roms in the roms folder along with the ROMS.LST file that I created using provlist, then i copied the IP.BIN file to the cd directory in the DreamSNES098 folder. I then directed bootdreams to the cd folder and it asked which file was the main Binary library, I told it was the 1DSNES.SH4 file. It then said IP.BIN has an invalid (missing) binary set. and asked me if I wanted to fix it, and I chose to fix the error. I then burned the disc using DiscJuggler with these settings.
Mode: Mode 1/DVD Offset: 0 Bytes
Block 2352 TOC: CD-ROM/DVD
All misc options off at 4x, and it worked great.

Thanks for your guys' help.

_________________
I have a life........I bought it on eBay.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2007 1:03 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 10:16 pm
Posts: 5772
Location: DCEvolution.net
LyingWake wrote:
What you'll need:

Latest version of BootDreams


That link doesn't work anymore...

_________________
Insane homebrew collector.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 1:48 pm 
Offline
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie

Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 1:46 pm
Posts: 1
I am a total noob to this whole thing and I've read through this whole forum front and back and I am still confused. I need a retards guide to all of this. Is there anybody who can help please?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2007 12:51 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 10:16 pm
Posts: 5772
Location: DCEvolution.net
hivmunky wrote:
I am a total noob to this whole thing and I've read through this whole forum front and back and I am still confused. I need a retards guide to all of this. Is there anybody who can help please?


just go with the initial post in this thread - follow it by the letter and it should work perfectly :wink:

_________________
Insane homebrew collector.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 24, 2007 12:34 pm 
Offline
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie

Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2007 12:30 pm
Posts: 1
Hi, I have a question about burning the ISO I created. The ISO I created boots on Chankast like all the other ISO's I use Chankast to test Iso's before I burn them. Anyway I have created about 10 coasters and am down to my last 4 CD-R's. I'm just wondering how to burn the ISO using Alcohol 120%.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2007 1:53 am 
Offline
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie

Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 1:35 am
Posts: 4
Hi, I know very very very little about this stuff. This is my first try at this.

I put the IP BIN in the cd folder. the next step is to put all unzipped roms in the roms directory. What does that mean? what are the unzipped roms?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CD Works, no games
PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2007 3:21 am 
Offline
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie

Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 1:35 am
Posts: 4
Chickysod wrote:
So I'm hoping my problem is not that hard to fix. I have followed your tutorial and was able to burn the disc (using Nero) and it plays just fine in my DC. I get to the screen with the "Help" "about DreamSNES" "Select Game" "Configure" and "Quite DreamSNES". with the pumkins falling and the music playing
My problem is in the "select game" category. I put the unzipped ROMS in the ROMS directory like you said in the walkthrough and still when I go to the Select Game option, no Games.
I got the ROMS off the internet at a site called http://www.coolrom.com.
Is there something I am missing? Is there a better place to get ROMS?



Ok, i finally got the disc burned and going. I am now having the same problem this guy had. What am I doing wrong?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 3:39 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 10:16 pm
Posts: 5772
Location: DCEvolution.net
You'll need to create a ROMS.LST with kRyPt's ROMList Creator. Check the link in the very first post in this topic.

_________________
Insane homebrew collector.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CD Works, no games
PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2007 7:37 pm 
Offline
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie

Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 1:35 am
Posts: 4
Parrish wrote:
Chickysod wrote:
So I'm hoping my problem is not that hard to fix. I have followed your tutorial and was able to burn the disc (using Nero) and it plays just fine in my DC. I get to the screen with the "Help" "about DreamSNES" "Select Game" "Configure" and "Quite DreamSNES". with the pumkins falling and the music playing
My problem is in the "select game" category. I put the unzipped ROMS in the ROMS directory like you said in the walkthrough and still when I go to the Select Game option, no Games.
I got the ROMS off the internet at a site called http://www.coolrom.com.
Is there something I am missing? Is there a better place to get ROMS?



Ok, i finally got the disc burned and going. I am now having the same problem this guy had. What am I doing wrong?



I did so. I downloaded that playlist thing.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 9:45 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 10:16 pm
Posts: 5772
Location: DCEvolution.net
...maybe you've added "no_roms_here" to the ROMS folder by mistake ?

_________________
Insane homebrew collector.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 10:37 am 
Offline
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie

Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 1:35 am
Posts: 4
Christuserloeser wrote:
...maybe you've added "no_roms_here" to the ROMS folder by mistake ?



How do I create a roms list? I dowloaded kRyPt's ROMList, I thought that created my list for me auot style. thankyou Christuserloeser for responding and trying to help me. There isnt a ton of people left lol.

Dremcast live on !!!!!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 2:45 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 10:16 pm
Posts: 5772
Location: DCEvolution.net
Oh, there are some people left; so I think we're not alone ^ ^

Anyway; to answer your question: Start romlst12.exe and choose your /DSNES/ROMS/ folder, then click "Make ROMS.LST".

If you open ROMS.LST in Wordpad it will look like this:

Quote:
ARKANOID.FIG:Arkanoid

_________________
Insane homebrew collector.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 225 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group