duke nukem 3d on dreamcast?

Talk about Quake, Doom, Wolfenstein 3D, or other DC first person shooting game ports and mods for those games in here.
apedosmil
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 6:14 pm

duke nukem 3d on dreamcast?

Post by apedosmil » Sat Apr 07, 2007 6:17 pm

Has anyone ported it? When I search all I find is that it has been ported to Nintendo DS.
User avatar
DaMadFiddler
Team Screamcast
Team Screamcast
Posts: 7953
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 7:17 am
Location: San Francisco, CA
Contact:

Re: duke nukem 3d on dreamcast?

Post by DaMadFiddler » Sat Apr 07, 2007 6:54 pm

apedosmil wrote:Has anyone ported it? When I search all I find is that it has been ported to Nintendo DS.
Yes, but you'll need a keyboard to play. Support for DC pads has not been added yet...and likely never will, as the project has been discontinued.

http://sdl-dc.sourceforge.net/#duke
apedosmil
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 6:14 pm

Post by apedosmil » Sat Apr 07, 2007 7:16 pm

Ah damn.. looks rather limited. Guess I'll try and get it to run in OS X.
User avatar
Skynet
DCEmu T-800
DCEmu T-800
Posts: 8594
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 6:27 pm
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Post by Skynet » Sat Apr 07, 2007 9:35 pm

Hell the last time I played the XBox port, that didn't even work. Or it required Atomic Edition or something. Either way I doubt we'll ever see Duke3D on either Dreamcast or XBox or any console port, not including playstation, n64, saturn and mega drive or whatever else it was on at some point :P
Live gamertag: SKYNET211

Steam gamertag: SkynetT800
JKKDARK
Choking On Cock 24/7
Choking On Cock 24/7
Posts: 276
Joined: Sat Jul 22, 2006 10:48 pm

Post by JKKDARK » Sun Apr 08, 2007 12:33 am

The Mega Drive was released only on Brazil? That must be a very rare game to get :)
User avatar
DaMadFiddler
Team Screamcast
Team Screamcast
Posts: 7953
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 7:17 am
Location: San Francisco, CA
Contact:

Post by DaMadFiddler » Sun Apr 08, 2007 1:38 am

Skynet wrote:Hell the last time I played the XBox port, that didn't even work. Or it required Atomic Edition or something. Either way I doubt we'll ever see Duke3D on either Dreamcast or XBox or any console port, not including playstation, n64, saturn and mega drive or whatever else it was on at some point :P
The Playstation version was terrible, though the Saturn edition is supposedly a pretty good rendition of the game. I had the PC version of Duke3D when I had my Saturn, so I wouldn't know.
User avatar
Skynet
DCEmu T-800
DCEmu T-800
Posts: 8594
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 6:27 pm
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Post by Skynet » Sun Apr 08, 2007 2:52 am

I've played it on PC, N64 and the crappy mega drive one. :lol: And for the record, I like the N64 version of the theme song the best.
Live gamertag: SKYNET211

Steam gamertag: SkynetT800
User avatar
DaMadFiddler
Team Screamcast
Team Screamcast
Posts: 7953
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 7:17 am
Location: San Francisco, CA
Contact:

Post by DaMadFiddler » Sun Apr 08, 2007 3:03 am

Wasn't the Genesis (yes, I'm American :P) version of the game more or less just some Duke Nukem graphics stuffed into an entirely unrelated simple FPS?
User avatar
Skynet
DCEmu T-800
DCEmu T-800
Posts: 8594
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 6:27 pm
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Post by Skynet » Sun Apr 08, 2007 7:28 am

I think it probably was as I don't think the game itself resembled Duke3D all that much. :lol: As for the Mega Drive/Genesis thing, I switch between the two so often it's not funny. One day I'll call it Genesis, another I'll call it Mega Drive. Depends who I'm talking to, where they come from, etc.
Live gamertag: SKYNET211

Steam gamertag: SkynetT800
JKKDARK
Choking On Cock 24/7
Choking On Cock 24/7
Posts: 276
Joined: Sat Jul 22, 2006 10:48 pm

Post by JKKDARK » Sun Apr 08, 2007 10:23 am

Skynet wrote:I think it probably was as I don't think the game itself resembled Duke3D all that much. :lol: As for the Mega Drive/Genesis thing, I switch between the two so often it's not funny. One day I'll call it Genesis, another I'll call it Mega Drive. Depends who I'm talking to, where they come from, etc.
Actually if you are non-american, you must call it Mega Drive. That's the original name
User avatar
az_bont
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 13567
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 8:35 am
Location: Swansea, Wales
Contact:

Post by az_bont » Sun Apr 08, 2007 10:32 am

Wikipedia article on Duke Nukem 3D wrote:In 1998, it was also ported to the Sega Mega Drive by Tec Toy. The obscurity of this port (it was released only in Brazil) has frequently led to it being mistaken for an unlicensed "hack". It is not based on any other game made for the Mega Drive, instead it was programmed from the ground up by Tec Toy. 3D Realms claims that the port is not legal, but Tec Toy maintains that it was licensed by now-defunct publisher GT Interactive.
Image
Sick of sub-par Dreamcast web browsers that fail to impress? Visit Psilocybin Dreams!
Sonic-NKT
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 156
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2002 1:06 pm

Post by Sonic-NKT » Mon Apr 09, 2007 8:22 am

i would be really happy if someone would work again on duke for dreamcast, the even got it working very good on the gp32 (and now even DS, though its slow yet), so the dreamcast should have more than enough power.
User avatar
Skynet
DCEmu T-800
DCEmu T-800
Posts: 8594
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 6:27 pm
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Post by Skynet » Tue Apr 10, 2007 6:18 am

JKKDARK wrote:
Skynet wrote:I think it probably was as I don't think the game itself resembled Duke3D all that much. :lol: As for the Mega Drive/Genesis thing, I switch between the two so often it's not funny. One day I'll call it Genesis, another I'll call it Mega Drive. Depends who I'm talking to, where they come from, etc.
Actually if you are non-american, you must call it Mega Drive. That's the original name
So that's enforcible by who? I can call it what I want. :P
Live gamertag: SKYNET211

Steam gamertag: SkynetT800
gamedudex2
DCEmu Super Fan
DCEmu Super Fan
Posts: 2662
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2003 7:19 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA
Contact:

Re:

Post by gamedudex2 » Sun Sep 23, 2007 11:32 pm

DaMadFiddler wrote:
Skynet wrote:Hell the last time I played the XBox port, that didn't even work. Or it required Atomic Edition or something. Either way I doubt we'll ever see Duke3D on either Dreamcast or XBox or any console port, not including playstation, n64, saturn and mega drive or whatever else it was on at some point :P
The Playstation version was terrible, though the Saturn edition is supposedly a pretty good rendition of the game. I had the PC version of Duke3D when I had my Saturn, so I wouldn't know.
i have the saturn version and a netlink modem :)
User avatar
Tyne
Pimp DC Devver
Pimp DC Devver
Posts: 1673
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Location: Canada, Ontario
Contact:

Re: duke nukem 3d on dreamcast?

Post by Tyne » Mon Sep 24, 2007 10:39 am

Saturn version isn't all that great, it's got a ton of stuff missing from the PC and PSX version although it looks darn good.
"I'm convinced RenegadeC is in fact not a human, but rather an experimental IRC/QuakeC bot who has the ability to randomly formulate mods and code them, programmed to have a distinct Canadian personality as well."
User avatar
mankrip
DCEmu Ex-Mod
DCEmu Ex-Mod
Posts: 3674
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2001 5:12 pm
Contact:

Re: duke nukem 3d on dreamcast?

Post by mankrip » Mon Sep 24, 2007 4:12 pm

The Saturn versions of Duke Nukem 3D and Quake uses the Powerslave engine, that's why they're so different from their PC versions.
Ph'nglui mglw'nafh mankrip Hell's end wgah'nagl fhtagn.
==-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-==
Dev blog / Twitter / YouTube
Image
Lartrak
DCEmu Respected
DCEmu Respected
Posts: 6166
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2002 9:28 pm

Re:

Post by Lartrak » Mon Feb 18, 2008 1:12 pm

az_bont wrote:
Wikipedia article on Duke Nukem 3D wrote:In 1998, it was also ported to the Sega Mega Drive by Tec Toy. The obscurity of this port (it was released only in Brazil) has frequently led to it being mistaken for an unlicensed "hack". It is not based on any other game made for the Mega Drive, instead it was programmed from the ground up by Tec Toy. 3D Realms claims that the port is not legal, but Tec Toy maintains that it was licensed by now-defunct publisher GT Interactive.
Image
They did a decent job from what I played, considering the Genesis limitations. I just tried it, it's very hard. I'd love to get a cart of it, but it's probably very expensive.
How to be a Conservative:
You have to believe everything that has ever gone wrong in the history of your country was due to Liberals.
User avatar
Nico0020
DCEmu User with No Life
DCEmu User with No Life
Posts: 3808
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Location: Fukuoka, Japan

Re: duke nukem 3d on dreamcast?

Post by Nico0020 » Wed Mar 26, 2008 7:50 pm

wasen't the port we had to Dreamcast just limited to the Demo or something due to RAM limitations?
*The Cadillac of signatures*
User avatar
emptythought
DC Developer
DC Developer
Posts: 2015
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2002 9:14 am
Location: UNITED STATES NRN
Contact:

Re: duke nukem 3d on dreamcast?

Post by emptythought » Wed Mar 26, 2008 8:25 pm

It was limited to shareware because of ram.
User avatar
Tyne
Pimp DC Devver
Pimp DC Devver
Posts: 1673
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Location: Canada, Ontario
Contact:

Re: duke nukem 3d on dreamcast?

Post by Tyne » Thu Mar 27, 2008 12:14 am

I'd also like to point out that the Xbox port of Duke3D is flawless, someone is using the wrong version. ;)
"I'm convinced RenegadeC is in fact not a human, but rather an experimental IRC/QuakeC bot who has the ability to randomly formulate mods and code them, programmed to have a distinct Canadian personality as well."
Post Reply