DCEmulation

dreamcast development • homebrew software • hardware hacking • indie games • emulators • and more!
Back to main site
It is currently Thu Oct 30, 2014 10:30 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 10, 2005 3:55 pm 
Offline
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 4:51 pm
Posts: 608
hey, has anyone tryed to put opposing force stuff into it yet, because that would be so awesome...but probrobly impossible...

_________________
Feel it, Don't think
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 10, 2005 4:38 pm 
Offline
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie

Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2003 1:02 pm
Posts: 7
Well, I've managed to get custom weapon models in, and I think pretty much everything would be pretty easy to put in except the levels, which seem to give an error when you try to load them. It might be possible with some work...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 17, 2005 9:36 am 
Offline
DCEmu Cool Newbie
DCEmu Cool Newbie

Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 3:07 am
Posts: 14
N3m3sis wrote:
hey, has anyone tryed to put opposing force stuff into it yet, because that would be so awesome...but probrobly impossible...

If do you want if it is possible, add opposing force or other mods , maps in hldc look here http://dreampower.amizadesonline.net/fo ... howtopic=9


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 17, 2005 3:48 pm 
Offline
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 4:51 pm
Posts: 608
i know it is possible, that was a while ago, i've started modding HL2, i'm sayin it's a pain in the @$$ to do it....i'm gonna try again though, thanks for the link!, but i can't read french, and for some reason the translators aren't working...

If you could translate it to english for me it would be a big help! thank you...

_________________
Feel it, Don't think
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 3:29 am 
Offline
DCEmu Cool Newbie
DCEmu Cool Newbie

Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 3:07 am
Posts: 14
It is opposing force and more pc mods on dreamcast.
Trie portuguese to english in your translator.
For add pc maps or mods in hldc use wally it easy to do it!
Fisrt delete some maps from pak0 in valve directory. Save
Then put the pc maps that you want in the pak0 in valve directory then save.
Ex: map "boot1"
First write mapboot1
then map\boot1 then save
You can create a new pak for put yor maps too (name the new pak too pak1)
It is same for models, sound and gfx
The wads not in the pak0 but in the valve directory.
For play the maps in dreamcast type ~ then type map xxx.

Note: The pc version of hl have some models(+-50) that hldc dont have some pc maps will need the extras models from halflife pc.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 8:17 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 10:16 pm
Posts: 5843
Location: DCEvolution.net
Hey, thanks a lot for sharing your findings. :)

...someone to reword this tutorial for HL newbs like me to understand it ?

_________________
Insane homebrew collector.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 12:42 pm 
Offline
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie

Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2003 1:02 pm
Posts: 7
wow this worked, the only thing diffrent from the way i tried it is they used a diffrent .pak editor.

I'll try to reword it to make it a little easier, without breaking any rules:

1. Put the Half-Life CD's contents on to your computer.
2. Download Wally here: http://www.telefragged.com/wally/downloads.shtml
3. Open up pak0.pak (in the valve folder) with wally.
4. Add delete maps/models/whatever as you please. (Another thing to note, all the dc maps have .lt2 and .tex files with them, for your own maps, you don't need these, just put in the .bsp)
5. Save
6. Reburn the game with the new .pak file in place.
7. Then hit ~ once you've loaded a map in half-life and type "map mapname" without the quotations


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2005 12:02 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 10:16 pm
Posts: 5843
Location: DCEvolution.net
Very nice. I'll give it a try once I got some time. Thanks to both of you! :kiss)

_________________
Insane homebrew collector.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 12:27 pm 
Offline
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 4:51 pm
Posts: 608
Cool, that's what i was trying before, i think that you could just replace the hazard course training with the entire opposing force game....it would be just a tad bit harder, but worth it....

*Edit*actually you can't....the hazard course is bulit into the normal Half-Life game....if opposing force was to be put into the game, it wouls have to replace blue shift....unless it can be added, but i don't know enough about code to do it...unless i mess around and waste a bunch of CD-R's in the process...

_________________
Feel it, Don't think
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 29, 2005 8:23 pm 
Offline
DCEmu Cool Newbie
DCEmu Cool Newbie

Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 3:07 am
Posts: 14
I tested 4 halflife mods in the dreamcast:
Gut reaction(works well)
VirtualReality mod (works well)
HlUplink(100%)
Opposing Forces (it works) but the extra weapons and characters that the game have doesn't appear, probably because the extra dll "opposing.dll" that needs to be converted to wince-dreamcast format.
HLDC is almost same QuakeDC, it uses wince, the game structure is very similar quake, half life comes from the quake1 engine.
HalfLife has maps and models editors as quake 1, but with the advantage of having more modern tools and an engine much better than quake1.
It would be very cool some project, mod or map pak done for dreamcast using the hldc.
Or if somebody tries to do a mod as counter strike to turn in the dreamcast.
Hldc is waiting for moders


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 30, 2005 12:19 pm 
Offline
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 4:51 pm
Posts: 608
what exactly did you replace to put opposing force in?i opened everything up with the unpaker, but i don't know which specific files to replace.....

i know i'm looking forward to some cool mods for this....

_________________
Feel it, Don't think
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 30, 2005 12:24 pm 
Offline
Dream Coder
Dream Coder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2002 10:14 pm
Posts: 7459
Location: Miami, FL
uh.....warez...

_________________
"When you post fewer lines of text than your signature, consider not posting at all." - A Wise Man


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 30, 2005 12:36 pm 
Offline
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 4:51 pm
Posts: 608
no, we aren't talking about downloading it, we are talking about modding it, i legaly bought my copy of HLDC (ebay, i know it's fake) and i bought oppoding force and all the other Half-Life games for the PC...

_________________
Feel it, Don't think
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 30, 2005 12:47 pm 
Offline
Dream Coder
Dream Coder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2002 10:14 pm
Posts: 7459
Location: Miami, FL
N3m3sis wrote:
i legaly bought my copy of HLDC


since the goods were illegal, no legal purchase of them can be made. modding implies you have it, which you shouldn't.

_________________
"When you post fewer lines of text than your signature, consider not posting at all." - A Wise Man


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 30, 2005 12:54 pm 
Offline
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 4:51 pm
Posts: 608
the goods aren't illegal, the downloading of them is, which i didn't do

please cut us a break, we aren't mentioning anything about getting it, we're talking about the program aspect of it.

the original topic wasn't locked because we stayed away from taking of the warez aspect of it, please don't lock this one as long as we don't talk about warez, which we weren't...

_________________
Feel it, Don't think
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 31, 2005 4:27 am 
Offline
DCEmu Cool Newbie
DCEmu Cool Newbie

Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 3:07 am
Posts: 14
In the valve directory from your hldc open pak0 and delete all maps\xxxx\xxxx files bsp,graphs,nod,txt,lt2, exept t0a0.bsp"the first training map", then save
(In the blueship-barney directory the maps will not work)
In oposing force go to the gearbox folder.
In the gearbox folder you ll see pak0, pak1 and pak2, these paks has 4 folders(maps, models, gfx, sprites and sound) and more some config files.
Simple copy the files from de paks and put in the pak0 in the valve directory in hldc.
First copy all o.p. maps files and put in hldc in this format "maps\xxx.bsp" and "maps\gaphs\xxx.nod" no in folders.
Sprites files===> sprites\xxx.spr
sound files ===>sound\xxx
Models files ==>models\xxx.mdl
Gfx files ==> dont need
+ the config files and the titles.txt from pak1

If you want, rename the of1a2.bsp map to c0a0(the first hldc map). The first o.p.f.map is of1a1 but it dont works in hldc.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 16 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group