So why did some commercial DC games not support VGA?

Any discussion of Dreamcast-related things that doesn't belong in the other forums, including discussion of commercial Dreamcast games or emulating the Dreamcast console on your computer or on another gaming console. Discussion of Reicast should go in the Official Reicast Forum. Please feel free to ask for help on a game, make Dreamcast emulator compatibility lists, post your own guides, review Dreamcast games, and post your game saves here as well.
Post Reply
MethodGit
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 251
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2003 10:43 am

So why did some commercial DC games not support VGA?

Post by MethodGit » Wed Nov 19, 2008 7:04 am

Perhaps someone could care to educate me on this one, or if there were any "politics" behind it. I would've thought VGA would be the best display option for all Dreamcast titles, yet there were a few games I seem to recall that would pop up a message at startup stating that the game does not support VGA output.

Surely this would a catalyst for running a "backup" version of a game (instead of a GD original) as you could at least manually patch those to force VGA support?

I look forward to your responses.
Ex-Cyber
DCEmu User with No Life
DCEmu User with No Life
Posts: 3641
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 1:55 pm

Re: So why did some commercial DC games not support VGA?

Post by Ex-Cyber » Wed Nov 19, 2008 8:22 am

My best guess is that some companies couldn't afford (or just didn't want to deal with) the additional QA testing. IIRC, a few games actually have VGA support in the code but have it disabled via the disc header.
"You know, I have a great, wonderful, really original method of teaching antitrust law, and it kept 80 percent of the students awake. They learned things. It was fabulous." -- Justice Stephen Breyer
cube_b3
Ex-Newsposter
Ex-Newsposter
Posts: 3937
Joined: Tue May 28, 2002 6:51 am
Location: pakistan,karachi
Contact:

Re: So why did some commercial DC games not support VGA?

Post by cube_b3 » Wed Nov 19, 2008 1:24 pm

So what dos that mean some games won't work with my vga adapter or they will just run on SD rather than HD?
Ex-Cyber
DCEmu User with No Life
DCEmu User with No Life
Posts: 3641
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 1:55 pm

Re: So why did some commercial DC games not support VGA?

Post by Ex-Cyber » Wed Nov 19, 2008 7:28 pm

The BIOS won't boot some games if a VGA cable/box is attached (unless it's a switchable one set to composite/s-video or RGB). There's a list floating around somewhere, but from memory I know that JoJo's Bizarre Adventure, King of Fighters: Dream Match 1999, and Bakuretsu Muteki Bangaioh won't boot.
"You know, I have a great, wonderful, really original method of teaching antitrust law, and it kept 80 percent of the students awake. They learned things. It was fabulous." -- Justice Stephen Breyer
Grimlock
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 160
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2002 10:34 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Re: So why did some commercial DC games not support VGA?

Post by Grimlock » Wed Nov 19, 2008 9:47 pm

If there are any specific games anyone wants to know about just ask me. I have almost every Dreamcast game. I have all the American titles, all the European exclusives, and almost all the Japanese exclusives. I'm 24 titles short (all Japanese) of having every game.

I also keep extensive records of which games function naturally with VGA, which ones require Codebreaker to force boot them into using VGA, and which ones can't use VGA at all.
Image

Hail Picard!
cube_b3
Ex-Newsposter
Ex-Newsposter
Posts: 3937
Joined: Tue May 28, 2002 6:51 am
Location: pakistan,karachi
Contact:

Re: So why did some commercial DC games not support VGA?

Post by cube_b3 » Thu Nov 20, 2008 9:07 am

You mind sharing the list rather then the number of your collection?
User avatar
|darc|
DCEmu Webmaster
DCEmu Webmaster
Posts: 16075
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2001 6:00 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA
Contact:

Re: So why did some commercial DC games not support VGA?

Post by |darc| » Thu Nov 20, 2008 11:26 am

Here is a decent list for reference:
http://www.racketboy.com/retro/2006/05/ ... -list.html
It's thinking...
Grimlock
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 160
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2002 10:34 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Re: So why did some commercial DC games not support VGA?

Post by Grimlock » Thu Nov 20, 2008 3:40 pm

This list is in an odd format, I could share it it would just take me a while to convert it.
Image

Hail Picard!
User avatar
Christuserloeser
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5924
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2003 12:16 am
Location: DCEvolution.net
Contact:

Re: So why did some commercial DC games not support VGA?

Post by Christuserloeser » Thu Nov 27, 2008 3:16 pm

MethodGit wrote:Perhaps someone could care to educate me on this one, or if there were any "politics" behind it.
It's mostly US and EU games that don't have VGA support enabled.

My guess: Didn't care / didn't know / forgot to.


There are exceptions though: Some of Capcom's Japanese Matching Service games don't support RGB nor VGA (RGBHV), which some assume was meant to prevent people from using them in public locations like arcades, cafes, bars, etc. pp.

European games that were optimized for 50Hz display (like Code Veronica) don't support VGA because it would mean that it wouldn't comply with the VGA standard anyway (640x480p60). But even those could be patched/tricked so they'd at least work on some European CRT monitors - but they wouldn't work on HDTVs because they wouldn't accept 50Hz via VGA.

MethodGit wrote:Surely this would a catalyst for running a "backup" version of a game (instead of a GD original) as you could at least manually patch those to force VGA support?
All that's missing would be a flag in the IP.BIN bootsector, so yeah, they could be "patched" by adding this flag.

BILAL_XIA wrote:So what dos that mean some games won't work with my vga adapter or they will just run on SD rather than HD?
Games that don't boot in VGA can be tricked to work in HD by simply booting them with the VGA adapter/box/cable unplugged. Once the cable is plugged in, the Dreamcast switches to VGA mode.

Grimlock wrote:This list is in an odd format, I could share it it would just take me a while to convert it.
If you could post it in DCEmulation's Wiki it would be appreciated :)
Insane homebrew collector.
Grimlock
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 160
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2002 10:34 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Re: So why did some commercial DC games not support VGA?

Post by Grimlock » Thu Nov 27, 2008 3:33 pm

I will when its complete. I'm only a few games away from owning all titles.
Image

Hail Picard!
Grimlock
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 160
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2002 10:34 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Re: So why did some commercial DC games not support VGA?

Post by Grimlock » Fri Feb 13, 2009 9:22 pm

Okay, so, I'm only one game short now. But I don't expect to get it any time soon.

Anyway, I have a generically exported HTML with all the data on it.

Is there anyone who would like to take it and create a better database with it?

Christuserloser I'm kind of aiming this at you.
Image

Hail Picard!
User avatar
Christuserloeser
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5924
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2003 12:16 am
Location: DCEvolution.net
Contact:

Re: So why did some commercial DC games not support VGA?

Post by Christuserloeser » Mon Feb 16, 2009 4:42 pm

Well, I would try to convert it to Wiki to post it at Wikipedia, here and at DCS. :)
Insane homebrew collector.
Post Reply