How make a CDI runnable on Reicast ?

The official forum for the Reicast emulator project.
Locked
User avatar
Newbie
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 171
https://www.artistsworkshop.eu/meble-kuchenne-na-wymiar-warszawa-gdzie-zamowic/
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2013 1:16 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

How make a CDI runnable on Reicast ?

Post by Newbie »

Hi everybody,

I make some code using KOS and want to test it on Reicast.
I use common self boot tool like bootBreams and obtain a regular CDI file.
But the file do not run on Reicast : it froze after the logo screen.
The CDI produced is good and boot up on machine.

I noticed that using Reicast some CDI files run and other not.
For example Dungeon Ross CDI file works.

My question is, how produce a CDI file that could be used on Reicast to test my code ?

Thanks for your help.
User avatar
lerabot
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2015 8:25 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: How make a CDI runnable on Reicast ?

Post by lerabot »

What are you deving on?

Here's a part of a script that I use to make reicast bootable .CDI
you'll need a IP.BIN in your folder as well. I can't remember how I got that file tho. Maybe from one of the exemple?

Also, this will create the .CDI and .ISO outside of you current folder. This is to prevent repacking the previous .CDI into the newly made .CDI

Code: Select all

#! /bin/sh
#automating script for making CD games

DIR=$PWD
PROJECT_NAME="test_cdi"

# go to  build directory
# make clean
make

#elf transform??
sh-elf-objcopy -R .stack -O binary main.elf output.bin

#scraming process
path/to/kos/utils/scramble/scramble output.bin 1ST_READ.bin

#creating iso -> -o outputname.cdi / build files path
mkisofs -C 0,11702 -V DC_GAME -G IP.BIN -r -J -l -o ../$PROJECT_NAME.iso $DIR

#transform iso into a CDI
path/to/kos/utils/cdi4cd/cdi4dc ../$PROJECT_NAME.iso ../$PROJECT_NAME.cdi -d > cdi4dc.log
User avatar
Newbie
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 171
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2013 1:16 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: How make a CDI runnable on Reicast ?

Post by Newbie »

Sorry for late answer ... tons of work to do :)

Well thanks for the script !
It does not solve the problem but it's certainly something on my code ...
The best thing to do is mock some things :)
What are you deving on?
A little framework very little thing ...
User avatar
lerabot
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2015 8:25 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: How make a CDI runnable on Reicast ?

Post by lerabot »

Join the dc-online discord under the game_dev channel if you want to chat about it!

https://discord.gg/vfWJHS8
Locked