DCEmulation

dreamcast development • homebrew software • hardware hacking • indie games • emulators • and more!
Back to main site
It is currently Sun Jun 25, 2017 5:15 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 35 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2017 2:15 pm 
Offline
The Crabby Overlord
The Crabby Overlord
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 9:31 am
Posts: 5175
retrojaner wrote:
What happens if the new SNAK has already been used in the past? That could be normal when you buy used software...
If that's the case, PM me with proof that you have the SN/AK (a photo of the sticker/page with it on there is sufficient), and I'll de-register it from whoever registered it previously.

That said, the chances of that are somewhat small, all in all. In fact, I think it's only happened once so far since I have run this server.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun May 14, 2017 1:43 pm 
Offline
DCEmu Cool Newbie
DCEmu Cool Newbie

Joined: Tue May 09, 2017 12:59 pm
Posts: 15
Location: Germany
It's hard to purchase here in Europe the v2/NTSC-U at a fair price.

Often it is unclear whether the SNAK is there.

Can I play also with a JAP SNAK and a US GD???


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun May 14, 2017 2:04 pm 
Offline
The Crabby Overlord
The Crabby Overlord
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 9:31 am
Posts: 5175
You need to have the same region game and serial number/access key. If you're using a Japanese SN/AK, you need a Japanese GD-ROM.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue May 16, 2017 5:42 am 
Offline
DCEmu Cool Newbie
DCEmu Cool Newbie

Joined: Tue May 09, 2017 12:59 pm
Posts: 15
Location: Germany
OK, thanks.

I can not currently find a complete V2 NTSC-U with SNAK at a fair price. That is really a shame. :(

For a game which was officially discontinued years ago and can only be played with additional effort on private servers...!!!

There is almost no market anymore... But prices are very high... Wow!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed May 17, 2017 5:26 am 
Offline
DCEmu Cool Newbie
DCEmu Cool Newbie

Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2016 12:06 pm
Posts: 11
Aleron Ives wrote:
You can only create PSO PC serials on the website. You need an original serial from a game case in order to register for DC.


I thought it was possible to create a new SNAK for Dreamcast? There's an option for that in the Manage Guildcards page, but I guess you're right. I recall someone tried to make a new SNAK for Dreamcast and it wouldn't accept it.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed May 17, 2017 9:53 am 
Offline
The Crabby Overlord
The Crabby Overlord
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 9:31 am
Posts: 5175
skyhawk71 wrote:
Aleron Ives wrote:
You can only create PSO PC serials on the website. You need an original serial from a game case in order to register for DC.


I thought it was possible to create a new SNAK for Dreamcast? There's an option for that in the Manage Guildcards page, but I guess you're right. I recall someone tried to make a new SNAK for Dreamcast and it wouldn't accept it.
There's not an option to generate one for DC. You have the option to associate an existing guild card with an account (for if you go online before registering) or to register a new guild card with an account (for if you haven't gone online before registering).

Only PSOPC has an option to generate a key.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun May 21, 2017 1:41 pm 
Offline
DCEmu Cool Newbie
DCEmu Cool Newbie

Joined: Tue May 09, 2017 12:59 pm
Posts: 15
Location: Germany
I've found a v2 NTSC-U!

Can someone give me a tip, how to delete the flash correctly?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2017 7:59 am 
Offline
DCEmu Cool Newbie
DCEmu Cool Newbie

Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2016 12:06 pm
Posts: 11
retrojaner wrote:
I've found a v2 NTSC-U!

Can someone give me a tip, how to delete the flash correctly?


http://psopalace.sylverant.net/downloads/DCFlash.zip

If you have a blank CR-r, you can burn the .cdi file in this download to that disc and run it on the Dreamcast. (assuming your Dreamcast can read burnt discs)

The alternative would be to track down PlanetWeb 1.0 and hold B+X upon start-up.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2017 8:05 am 
Offline
DCEmu Cool Newbie
DCEmu Cool Newbie

Joined: Tue May 09, 2017 12:59 pm
Posts: 15
Location: Germany
Thanks. I burn the CDI... ;)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2017 8:11 am 
Offline
DCEmu Cool Newbie
DCEmu Cool Newbie

Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2016 12:06 pm
Posts: 11
No problem! I hope you'll start playing PSOv2 soon, having more players is always nice! :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed May 24, 2017 4:38 am 
Offline
DCEmu Cool Newbie
DCEmu Cool Newbie

Joined: Tue May 09, 2017 12:59 pm
Posts: 15
Location: Germany
1. I would be an absolute beginner... :grin:
2. And the console is not online yet... :(


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jun 01, 2017 7:44 am 
Offline
DCEmu Cool Newbie
DCEmu Cool Newbie

Joined: Tue May 09, 2017 12:59 pm
Posts: 15
Location: Germany
https://segaretro.org/Phantasy_Star_Onl ... nformation

According to the webpage a lot of blocks are needed. Is there one vmu to play enough?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jun 01, 2017 11:59 am 
Offline
The Crabby Overlord
The Crabby Overlord
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 9:31 am
Posts: 5175
The only two files you need on your memory card normally are the main data and the guild card files (so, 45 blocks worth). The screenshot files are pretty much useless and you don't need to worry about them...

If you want to save all of the online quests, then you'll probably need multiple memory cards to do that.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 02, 2017 11:53 pm 
Offline
DCEmu Cool Newbie
DCEmu Cool Newbie

Joined: Tue May 09, 2017 12:59 pm
Posts: 15
Location: Germany
OK, thanks!
I register the SNAK under "Manage Your Guildcards" and in PSO itself. For what is "Create Login Token"? Not important for DC?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jun 03, 2017 1:12 am 
Offline
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 1:15 pm
Posts: 702
Location: California
The only purpose of the login tokens is if you don't want to transmit your username and password with the /login command in game, because PSO uses weak encryption, so somebody could potentially sniff your connection and get your login credentials if you send them in a chat packet (although it is quite unlikely to happen).

_________________
"Fear the HUnewearl."
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 35 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group