Can the official PSOv2 disc be used to connect?

Sylverant is a homebrew open source server for Phantasy Star Online. Dreamcast users still play PSO online with this server even today! This is the official forum for both the online game server as well as the open source project itself. Feel free to post and get a gathering started online! We can also show you how to get connected!

Moderators: BlueCrab, Aleron Ives

Post Reply
TomatoHead
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 10:56 pm

Can the official PSOv2 disc be used to connect?

Post by TomatoHead » Sun Feb 12, 2017 11:00 pm

I just finished a line voltage inducer and burned the dreampi program to a microSD, I just want to know if it is possible to get onto the Sylverant server via the official PSOv2 disc or do I HAVE to burn an edited version?
User avatar
Nico0020
DCEmu User with No Life
DCEmu User with No Life
Posts: 3808
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Location: Fukuoka, Japan

Re: Can the official PSOv2 disc be used to connect?

Post by Nico0020 » Mon Feb 13, 2017 12:42 am

You can connect with an official disc, you just have to use a patch disc first. It's a disc you use basically like a boot disc which will auto direct you to the sylverant server and disable the HL check. It will also patch music for the spaceship and temple quest

Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk
*The Cadillac of signatures*
User avatar
Nico0020
DCEmu User with No Life
DCEmu User with No Life
Posts: 3808
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Location: Fukuoka, Japan

Re: Can the official PSOv2 disc be used to connect?

Post by Nico0020 » Mon Feb 13, 2017 12:46 am

Here is the link to the disc.
http://psopalace.sylverant.net/download ... er_2-0.zip

Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk
*The Cadillac of signatures*
User avatar
BlueCrab
The Crabby Overlord
The Crabby Overlord
Posts: 5250
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 11:31 am
Location: Sailing the Skies of Arcadia
Contact:

Re: Can the official PSOv2 disc be used to connect?

Post by BlueCrab » Mon Feb 13, 2017 1:05 am

As an addendum to what was already said, if you're using the European release of PSOv2, you don't technically need the patcher disc to play online (although, I'd still recommend it for the Ultimate mode mapfix patch). This is only true of the European release though -- the US and Japanese releases both need some additional checks patched out of the code before they can work, which the patcher disc does for you.

Also, if you have a CodeBreaker/XploderDC disc, you could use that instead of the patcher, but that requires careful input of a bunch of codes, which is quite a pain (and you can't get the Ultimate mode mapfix this way either).
User avatar
Aleron Ives
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu
Posts: 728
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 2:15 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Can the official PSOv2 disc be used to connect?

Post by Aleron Ives » Mon Feb 13, 2017 2:49 am

As a second addendum to what was already said ( :lol: ), you also have to be careful if you go the cheat disc route, because PSOv2 doesn't play nicely if you have codesaves on your VMU, so you must have a separate VMU with codes saved onto it and no PSO characters -- and you must unplug this VMU before you boot PSO, or else your character may corrupt without warning. The boot disc is a much safer and simpler alternative to using codes with a GD-ROM of the game.
"Fear the HUnewearl."
Image
User avatar
BlueCrab
The Crabby Overlord
The Crabby Overlord
Posts: 5250
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 11:31 am
Location: Sailing the Skies of Arcadia
Contact:

Re: Can the official PSOv2 disc be used to connect?

Post by BlueCrab » Mon Feb 13, 2017 7:06 am

Aleron Ives wrote:As a second addendum to what was already said ( :lol: ), you also have to be careful if you go the cheat disc route, because PSOv2 doesn't play nicely if you have codesaves on your VMU, so you must have a separate VMU with codes saved onto it and no PSO characters -- and you must unplug this VMU before you boot PSO, or else your character may corrupt without warning. The boot disc is a much safer and simpler alternative to using codes with a GD-ROM of the game.
Aww, my reasoning wasn't annoying enough of a deterrent? :lol:
Post Reply