DCEmulation

dreamcast development • homebrew software • hardware hacking • indie games • emulators • and more!
Back to main site
It is currently Sun Mar 26, 2017 5:46 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2017 6:24 am 
Offline
DCEmu Crazy Poster
DCEmu Crazy Poster
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2014 11:32 pm
Posts: 31
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Hi! My Nintendo GameCube Broadband Adapter arrived a few hours ago.
I tried connecting to Sylverant, but I keep getting an error, telling me the DHCP IP address can't be retrieved.

I am using the European version of PHANTASY STAR ONLINE EPISODE I&II for Nintendo Gamecube.
The connection guide doesn't explain ANYTHING about wether you should fill in your IP manually, use PPoE or DHCP.

I did everything according to the Sylverant connection guide.
I think I got error 015?

Thanks in advance!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2017 9:17 am 
Offline
The Crabby Overlord
The Crabby Overlord
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 9:31 am
Posts: 5123
In theory, DHCP should work fine (since pretty much every router does DHCP)...

That said, if you're not able to get an IP address via DHCP, then you should try configuring the Gamecube with a static IP address instead. You'll need to figure out what IP address range your router is assigning DHCP addresses out of and pick one that is either never used in that range or is just outside of that range (but in the same network by the netmask of your router).

For instance, my router is 192.168.1.1, it assigns DHCP clients addresses out of the range 192.168.1.100-192.168.1.199 (with a netmask of 255.255.255.0), so I could give my Gamecube the address 192.168.1.222 and it should work just fine.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2017 10:16 am 
Offline
DCEmu Crazy Poster
DCEmu Crazy Poster
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2014 11:32 pm
Posts: 31
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
BlueCrab wrote:
In theory, DHCP should work fine (since pretty much every router does DHCP)...

That said, if you're not able to get an IP address via DHCP, then you should try configuring the Gamecube with a static IP address instead. You'll need to figure out what IP address range your router is assigning DHCP addresses out of and pick one that is either never used in that range or is just outside of that range (but in the same network by the netmask of your router).

For instance, my router is 192.168.1.1, it assigns DHCP clients addresses out of the range 192.168.1.100-192.168.1.199 (with a netmask of 255.255.255.0), so I could give my Gamecube the address 192.168.1.222 and it should work just fine.

I tried your method; the Manual IP method. And it worked!!!
I no longer get error 105!

mistake
FIXED AND VICTORIOUS

_________________
In my possesion:
PHANTASY STAR ONLINE EPISODE I & II (Gamecube)

PHANTASY STAR ONLINE EPISODE III:
C.A.R.D. Revolution (Gamecube)

PHANTASY STAR ONLINE
NETWORK TRIAL EDITION (Dreamcast)


Last edited by Tymek on Sat Jan 07, 2017 12:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2017 10:33 am 
Offline
The Crabby Overlord
The Crabby Overlord
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 9:31 am
Posts: 5123
That error code is still one from before connecting to the server, so it is still an issue on your end.

Are you sure that everything you put in for your connection settings is correct? Is the wire securely connected both on your Gamecube and on your router/switch (i.e, when you try to connect, does the light for whatever port your Gamecube is connected to light up properly)?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2017 11:54 am 
Offline
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2015 5:32 am
Posts: 8
Location: Fr.
I had this issue a few time ago.
I was connecting via a switch that cannot handle devices 10BASE-T and 100BASE-T at the same time...
Using another switch, I get connected !

_________________
Nintendo Gamecube Addict
Playing from Fr. and leveling up slowly...
Playing with a Sammy Keyboard on a black Gamecube with a BBA


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2017 12:19 pm 
Offline
DCEmu Crazy Poster
DCEmu Crazy Poster
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2014 11:32 pm
Posts: 31
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
BlueCrab wrote:
That error code is still one from before connecting to the server, so it is still an issue on your end.

Are you sure that everything you put in for your connection settings is correct? Is the wire securely connected both on your Gamecube and on your router/switch (i.e, when you try to connect, does the light for whatever port your Gamecube is connected to light up properly)?

Everything I put in was correct, and everything was connected properly. But I now found out what the mistake was, and fixed it!
My Ethernet extender seems to have been dis-linked from the main router, due to a long period of inactivity. (If you don't use it for a while, you'll have to re-link it again) That's why I was unable to connect after solving the IP issues.

Everything is fully functional now!
Thank you, everyone! You too, elfangor, as it was pretty helpful to a certain extent!
I am finally online! Oh my god!

_________________
In my possesion:
PHANTASY STAR ONLINE EPISODE I & II (Gamecube)

PHANTASY STAR ONLINE EPISODE III:
C.A.R.D. Revolution (Gamecube)

PHANTASY STAR ONLINE
NETWORK TRIAL EDITION (Dreamcast)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group