DCEmulation

dreamcast development • homebrew software • hardware hacking • indie games • emulators • and more!
Back to main site
It is currently Wed Nov 26, 2014 7:36 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2012 5:53 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 10:16 pm
Posts: 5843
Location: DCEvolution.net
brourke228 posted a tutorial on how to get online with your Dreamcast by extending your LAN over a phone line to your Dreamcast.

Quote:
I've been working on this for a while now and finally got it set up correctly. Through this method you will be using a network device (Netopia R2000/R2020) to automatically accept Dreamcast's modem calls and extend your LAN over a phone line (to Dreamcast). The end result is that you will have Dreamcast on the same subnet as all other devices on your broadband network, it will have internet (obviously), and all port forwarding etc. will be dealt with right on your broadband router just as with your computers. Essentially your broadband router will not be able to tell the difference between this and a BBA.

This is not the cheapest setup, but if you can find the materials for a good price then it's totally worth it. Since this method of connection is completely seamless to connect like a bba, but allows you to connect to anything since it's still using dial up.

Here is what you need to set this up:
-Netopia R2000/R2020
-Router (any broadband router should do)
-Phone Line Simulator (I'm using a Teltone TLS3)
-Dreamcast w/ 56k Modem (Model A and B will both work)
-2 Telephone cords (If connecting two Dreamcasts simultaneously you will need 4 telephone cords, and 6 for three simultaneous Dreamcast connections)

So onto the features of this connection method:
-19Kbps connection speed
-130ms latency (over LAN)
-No phone line is required
-Dreamcast will be on the same subnet as PC's on your network (ie, if your router is 192.168.1.1, then Dreamcast can be anything from 192.168.1.2 to 192.168.1.255)
-As a result of being on the same subnet, it is managed completely by your broadband router as with all modern network devices ( You can even put Dreamcast in DMZ if you so choose)
-The Netopia R2000/R2020 will automatically answer Dreamcast's call
-This works with model A and model B Dreamcast Modems both without the use of a line voltage inducer
-The phone line simulator will supply the dial tone for Quake 3 and any other game which does not support blind dial
-You can connect 2 (3 if you attached a serial modem) Dreamcasts simultaneously so long as there are sufficient lines on your phone line simulator.
-Because Dreamcast is seen on the same subnet as other PCs on the LAN, you can use drdns and connect to PSO using the same method as a BBA without the need to use a codebreaker or autoconnect disc.

[...]I have tested PSO, Quake 3 Arena, Max Pool, 4x4 Evolution, and StarLancer. With 4x4 Evolution, Max Pool and StarLancer it sometimes takes a couple tries for it to connect. If the Netopia router does fail to answer a call, wait for the Channel and Ready LEDs to go out before attempting to redial. Once the game is connected you should not have any issues.


Read the full tutorial here: http://dreamcast-talk.com/forum/viewtop ... f=3&t=3122

_________________
Insane homebrew collector.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2012 9:02 am 
Offline
Mental DCEmu
Mental DCEmu
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 1:14 pm
Posts: 359
Location: Ragol
I'm trying to connect through a modem psov2 the internet but can not: '(
help plz

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2012 7:50 pm 
Offline
DCEmu Freak
DCEmu Freak

Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 12:33 pm
Posts: 55
Christuserloeser wrote:
brourke228 posted a tutorial on how to get online with your Dreamcast by extending your LAN over a phone line to your Dreamcast


This was posted there Last February :lol:

Better late than never ;)

_________________

Domo! Oyasuminasai; Sayonara


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2012 12:47 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 10:16 pm
Posts: 5843
Location: DCEvolution.net
Well, yeah, been a bit out of the loop I guess...

_________________
Insane homebrew collector.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group