Any good free backup software?

Talk about anything and everything not related to this site or the Dreamcast, such as news stories, political discussion, or anything else. If there's not a forum for it, it belongs in here. Also, be warned that personal insults, threats, and spamming will not be tolerated.
melancholy
DCEmu's Ace Attorney
DCEmu's Ace Attorney
https://www.artistsworkshop.eu/meble-kuchenne-na-wymiar-warszawa-gdzie-zamowic/
Has thanked: 0

Any good free backup software?

Post by melancholy »

I have been using the automatic backup software in Vista for a couple of months now, and it was a good thing too because tonight I needed it. However, in the process of restoring my backup, I learned a harsh truth; Vista doesn't backup applications. Period. I didn't notice it before, but apparently it even says it in the menu that it is impossible to program it to backup applications, which to me seems infinitely stupid. And beyond that, I have always been bothered by the fact that Vista also will not backup my external hard drive, which houses my iTunes collection and would kinda suck to lose.

So I need new backup software. Something preferably free that I can set to make automatic backups weekly without me messing with it. If it can do compressed backups, that would be awesome too. And since it will probably be running in the background, something that isn't too much of a resource hog. And of course, something that will actually backup the entire hard drive, and not just selective things like Vista seems to do.
Roofus
President & CEO Roofuscorp, LLC
Been thanked: 0

Re: Any good free backup software?

Post by Roofus »

Write a batch file and schedule a task.
Ex-Cyber
DCEmu User with No Life
DCEmu User with No Life

Post by Ex-Cyber »