DCEmulation

The Dreamcast Homebrew Community Online
Back to main site
It is currently Fri Apr 18, 2014 6:08 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Nov 05, 2009 6:39 pm 
Offline
DCEmu Freak
DCEmu Freak

Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 10:45 am
Posts: 58
Location: UK
Right, after making an internal VGA mod on my Dreamcast, a reset button, overclocking it etc I finally want to make the SD card reader.

Now I have soldered 10 wires internally onto the serial port pins (same as in pic)
Image

I have taken the following wire/pin layout drawing from the same website as I got the above picture - a Japanese site.
Image

I just need alittle help with the above drawing - heres how I'm thinking the wires go

serial pin 1 = live - although it dosent need a live does it?
serial pin 2= ??
serial pin 3 = earth
serial pin 4 = to SD pin 7
serial pin 5 = to SD pin 2
serial pin 6 = to SD pin 1 ( and to LED negative?)
serial pin 7 = to SD pin 5
serial pin 8 = (earth)
serial pin 9 = not used
serial pin 10 = live pin of LED? and live pins of 2 capacitors which then go to SD pin 4. (and the negative leg of capacitors go to earth?)

while SD pins 3 & 6 go to earth too.

Is that right? I'm not very good with these types of drawings/plans - I'm just ok with a soldering iron but I'm trying.... :oops:

_________________
Dreamcast, it's still thinking.

Over-clocked : Dreamcast currently running at 240Mhz (switchable)

Internal VGA, extra cooling fans, disc activity LED, SD card reader done :-)

Dreamcast HD wanted


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 12:44 am 
Offline
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:58 pm
Posts: 186
I think you got it all right.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 24, 2010 5:17 pm 
Offline
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu

Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2002 11:06 am
Posts: 156
Is it working?
want to sdmod my dreamcast but i cant get my hands on a coders or vs cable


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2010 12:26 pm 
Offline
DC Developer
DC Developer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:51 am
Posts: 292
We are in the same situation...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2010 1:28 pm 
Offline
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu

Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2002 11:06 am
Posts: 156
found another howto in the spanish forum:
http://translate.google.de/translate?u= ... =&ie=UTF-8

but it is also a bit confusing, as they say you need a capacitor, a resistor and LED but on the picture the have 2 capacitors but no resistor or led ;)
i think the resistor is only for the led, so if you dont use that you do not need the other one either (brightness of led).

ah i will just buy the parts next week and try it with on of my spare DCs.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 30, 2010 2:42 pm 
Offline
DCEmu Freak
DCEmu Freak

Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 5:44 pm
Posts: 78
The LED is write indicator and the resistor is needed because a LED has almost no internal resistance and will burn up without it. Should work fine without them, but I haven't tested.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group