Coder cable and dctool-serial trouble

Discuss modifications you have done or plan to do to your Dreamcast or any other hardware, or discuss devices you want to build. If your console does not work or is acting up, ask about fixing it in here.
Post Reply
0000
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 11:12 am

Coder cable and dctool-serial trouble

Post by 0000 » Sat Oct 17, 2009 11:14 am

Hello,

I made my own coder cable few days ago with a ttl/rs232 converter like this http://images.virtualvillage.com/003602-008/001.jpg . But nothing works,
first: i've no image when i boot with the ttl/rs232 converter connnected, so i need to boot without it and only after i can connect it.
second: when i'm trying to upload any bin/elf it happens nothing. ("Idle..." message)

I would know what is wrong exactly? my rs232 port configuration? my ttl/rs232 ? my solderings? can anybody clarify me? that's really weird
Ex-Cyber
DCEmu User with No Life
DCEmu User with No Life
Posts: 3641
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 1:55 pm

Re: Coder cable and dctool-serial trouble

Post by Ex-Cyber » Sat Oct 17, 2009 4:07 pm

Have you crossed the lines appropriately for null-modem communication? Connecting two systems together directly with RS232 requires the RxD/TxD and CTS/RTS lines to be crossed between the two systems. Sometimes this is done within a cable, sometimes it's done with a separate adapter, etc.
"You know, I have a great, wonderful, really original method of teaching antitrust law, and it kept 80 percent of the students awake. They learned things. It was fabulous." -- Justice Stephen Breyer
0000
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 11:12 am

Re: Coder cable and dctool-serial trouble

Post by 0000 » Sun Oct 18, 2009 6:42 am

lol, in fact... completly forgot :/
Thanks you.
Post Reply