what to do with a broken dreamcast

Discuss modifications you have done or plan to do to your Dreamcast or any other hardware, or discuss devices you want to build. If your console does not work or is acting up, ask about fixing it in here.
Post Reply
User avatar
salemustbedestroyed
DCEmu Freak
DCEmu Freak
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2003 9:07 pm

what to do with a broken dreamcast

Post by salemustbedestroyed » Thu Oct 09, 2008 8:22 pm

so my dreamcast finally died. its had problems reading discs in the past, and random reset issues acouple times...but know its gotten to the points discs don't even spin. i've had it for quite a few years now,
in that time i've taken it apart and cleaned and tweeked things several times...but this time is different. i am fairly confident in order to fix it i have to replace the GB rom drive, and i'm not so sure i'm willing to pay for that.
so thats the questioin
what to do with my broken dreamcast?
User avatar
Christuserloeser
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5935
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2003 12:16 am
Location: DCEvolution.net
Contact:

Re: what to do with a broken dreamcast

Post by Christuserloeser » Sun Oct 12, 2008 2:51 pm

Either try to repair the drive which if I remember correctly in theory might be possible by simply adjusting the laser, or do donate it to someone here on the boards, or do sell it on ebay as broken. Broken Dreamcasts go for €10-€15 here, not sure about what they might fetch in the US tho.
Insane homebrew collector.
Guaripolo
DCEmu Freak
DCEmu Freak
Posts: 89
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 10:04 am

Re: what to do with a broken dreamcast

Post by Guaripolo » Sun Oct 12, 2008 7:30 pm

i will say what always says to people: "trash it and tell me when and where i can recolect it".

So if u have a broken DC, i could give it a good home AWheAUWeUAHwe.
User avatar
-=FamilyGuy=-
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 132
Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2006 10:53 pm

Re: what to do with a broken dreamcast

Post by -=FamilyGuy=- » Fri Oct 24, 2008 7:39 am

What I did with one of my broken DC: Remove the innards and keep only the case, use it as a piggybank. Nobody will ever think to look to that Dreamcast on your desk ...

And the look ain't that bad !

FG
Ripping DC GD-R with dvd drive : http://dreamagain.free.fr/layout.php?p=tutoGD
Overclocked DC at 240MHZ !
Bleemcast own backup boot up TO THE BLEEM MENU, but can't boot GT2... almost got it ...
Dreamcast Portable 80% DONE, only the case is missing... and time too... Official Thread
-=FamilyGuy=-
kohan69
DCEmu Freak
DCEmu Freak
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2006 11:25 pm
Contact:

Re: what to do with a broken dreamcast

Post by kohan69 » Wed Jan 07, 2009 4:59 pm

Fix it.
It still works fine.

Look for a broken dreamcast that "doesnt power up" (bad psu/mobo) and use its gd drive
joey245
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 12:52 pm

Re: what to do with a broken dreamcast

Post by joey245 » Wed Apr 29, 2009 11:11 am

I'd say keep it as spares, i'd say as it may save another DC.
User avatar
salemustbedestroyed
DCEmu Freak
DCEmu Freak
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2003 9:07 pm

Re: what to do with a broken dreamcast

Post by salemustbedestroyed » Thu Apr 30, 2009 3:31 am

already sent it off homies....never heard from the guy i gave it to though.
hope he got some uses from it though
User avatar
Nico0020
DCEmu User with No Life
DCEmu User with No Life
Posts: 3813
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Location: Fukuoka, Japan

Re: what to do with a broken dreamcast

Post by Nico0020 » Mon May 04, 2009 3:52 am

hopefully someone got use out of it. I have a spare that ive used for parts over the years as it broke down on me a long time ago. But you could always paint the shell and if you screw up no harm done.
*The Cadillac of signatures*
cube_b3
Ex-Newsposter
Ex-Newsposter
Posts: 3937
Joined: Tue May 28, 2002 6:51 am
Location: pakistan,karachi
Contact:

Re: what to do with a broken dreamcast

Post by cube_b3 » Tue May 05, 2009 5:30 am

Here I have seen rooms filled with trashed Dreamcast's that even worked fine, I destroyed 2 in the process of testing, plugged the 110v dc into 220.
Post Reply