The DDCast (with pix) (1/29/06)

Discuss modifications you have done or plan to do to your Dreamcast or any other hardware, or discuss devices you want to build. If your console does not work or is acting up, ask about fixing it in here.
User avatar
Nemesis
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu
Posts: 608
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 6:51 pm
Contact:

The DDCast (with pix) (1/29/06)

Post by Nemesis » Sat Jan 28, 2006 1:24 pm

As a few of you know, i have been working on many mods for the dreamcast, and i decided it was about damn time i posted pictures, i just took these today (1/28/06)...I plan to keep updating this, showing what i get done (even if it is a slow process, because i can only work on it on saturdays because of school...)

I've decided to call it the DoubleDreamCast

Here is basically most of the hardware set-up:
Image

Here is the case in it's early stages:
Image

Here is a crappy close-up of the screen:
Image

This is basically what i am doing/have done:

1.LCD screen - 100%
2.Modded Genesis/NES pad port - 80%
3.RCA out - 80%
4.Internal wireless controller - 10%
5.Internal VMUs - 90%
6.Case - 30%
7.Rumble reactant LED chain - 40%
8.Over-clocking - 50%
9.Mini-heatsink - 100% (not visible in pix)
10.Internal VGA - 20% (need to take a trip to radioshack)
11.Modchip - 50%

Tell me waht you think! :D ...I also need suggestions for a paint-scheme w/matching LEDs, and i'm not sure if i should do a window or not...


*EDIT* Dammit, i can't get my image-hosting thing to stop re-sizing my 1st picture.....
Last edited by Nemesis on Sun Sep 10, 2006 1:22 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Feel it, Don't think
Image
User avatar
Nico0020
DCEmu User with No Life
DCEmu User with No Life
Posts: 3814
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 7:44 pm
Location: Fukuoka, Japan

Post by Nico0020 » Sat Jan 28, 2006 5:53 pm

looks cool but what are you doing now? lol.
*The Cadillac of signatures*
Sir Savant
Somewhat Dumb Knight
Posts: 3649
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 2:26 pm

Post by Sir Savant » Sat Jan 28, 2006 7:11 pm

Your supplies will be shipped on monday, as well as some electronics you may find usefull in your mod.

Hope you put the extra DC case to good use.
User avatar
Nemesis
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu
Posts: 608
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 6:51 pm
Contact:

Post by Nemesis » Sat Jan 28, 2006 11:00 pm

Nico0020 wrote:looks cool but what are you doing now? lol.
I'm doing everything that isn't at 100%...
Sir Savant wrote: Your supplies will be shipped on monday, as well as some electronics you may find usefull in your mod.

Hope you put the extra DC case to good use.
Thanks, oh, what did u include? I will put it to good use, no worries there :D
Feel it, Don't think
Image
Matt
Soul Sold for DCEmu
Soul Sold for DCEmu
Posts: 4235
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2003 4:48 pm
Location: By my PC Hair:Bad
Contact:

Post by Matt » Sun Jan 29, 2006 5:11 am

Im liking the case idea. You going to use putty stuff to put it together and then paint?
User avatar
Nemesis
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu
Posts: 608
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 6:51 pm
Contact:

Post by Nemesis » Sun Jan 29, 2006 12:36 pm

Yep, I'm going to putty it, sand it, and then paint it, I just got my OC chips in the mail, so i'll be doing that soon too...I also forgot to mention what the rumble reactant LED chain was...Where the bumps are on the top of the console, i am going to drill holes and put in LEDs (i was thinking red-yellow-green-yellow-red). these LEDs will light up when there is rumble in the game (they also det dimmer or brighter depending on how much rumble there is, this feature is pretty much made jsut for REZ :D)
Feel it, Don't think
Image
User avatar
dcmodder
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu
Posts: 615
Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2004 8:42 pm
Location: ks
Contact:

Post by dcmodder » Sun Jan 29, 2006 8:12 pm

congratulations you're trying to make your own gamecube :P
wont u be my friend?
User avatar
Nemesis
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu
Posts: 608
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 6:51 pm
Contact:

Post by Nemesis » Mon Jan 30, 2006 7:24 pm

dcmodder wrote:congratulations you're trying to make your own gamecube :P
LOL
Feel it, Don't think
Image
Sir Savant
Somewhat Dumb Knight
Posts: 3649
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 2:26 pm

Post by Sir Savant » Fri Feb 17, 2006 3:31 pm

Update?
Sir Savant
Somewhat Dumb Knight
Posts: 3649
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 2:26 pm

Post by Sir Savant » Sat Feb 18, 2006 9:42 am

To include like a killion mods into one convenient "new" case.

And there really is no point to most hardware mods.
User avatar
Nemesis
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu
Posts: 608
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 6:51 pm
Contact:

Post by Nemesis » Mon Feb 20, 2006 5:48 pm

Yah, i've been extremely busy with school, haven't been able to do much of anything, and i was away all this weekend.... i'm hoping to complete the case and overclock portions next weekend...
Feel it, Don't think
Image
User avatar
Nemesis
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu
Posts: 608
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 6:51 pm
Contact:

Post by Nemesis » Wed Mar 01, 2006 3:20 pm

well, the more i think about it, and the more measurements i do, the more i doubt that the internal vmu thing will work, so what i'm planning to do is still have something like it

Image

i will mount the two slots so that you can still see the VMUs while playing, i didn't get as much done as i had hoped this weekend, it seems like i just get one project after another in school...

but the main reason i didn't get much done was my innability to find a proper putty solution for filling in the cracks between the two case-halves...I was recommended bond-o (the crap that can be used with cars) but idt that's the kind of thing i'm looking for...

if anyone knows of something that would work for this situation please post it!! it needs to fill the cracks and be sandable, a brand name would be much appreciated! :D

*EDIT* and yes, i know the drawing was crappy, i did it in like 2 minutes...
Feel it, Don't think
Image
mink03
DCEmu Nutter
DCEmu Nutter
Posts: 786
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2003 2:37 pm
Location: New yawk
Contact:

Post by mink03 » Thu Mar 02, 2006 12:32 am

*EDIT* and yes, i know the drawing was crappy, i did it in like 2 minutes...
psshhh fuck that a want to see a smooth photoshoped rendition RIGHT NOW!
crabcakes
User avatar
Nemesis
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu
Posts: 608
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 6:51 pm
Contact:

Post by Nemesis » Thu Mar 02, 2006 9:01 pm

mink03 wrote:
*EDIT* and yes, i know the drawing was crappy, i did it in like 2 minutes...
psshhh fuck that a want to see a smooth photoshoped rendition RIGHT NOW!
;P .... unfortunately i have no photoshop skills....
Feel it, Don't think
Image
User avatar
SuperMegatron
DCEmu User with No Life
DCEmu User with No Life
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2002 8:47 pm

Post by SuperMegatron » Fri Mar 03, 2006 9:28 pm

You should have space for a internal vmu if used one of those interact ones that didnt have the screen. You could strip the housing off and put it on its side near the controller port.
User avatar
Nemesis
Psychotic DCEmu
Psychotic DCEmu
Posts: 608
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 6:51 pm
Contact:

Post by Nemesis » Sat Mar 04, 2006 12:55 pm

the point of the internal vmu wasn't for memory, i know i'd have the space for one, but i wanted to see the screen of the vmu while playing the game, so now i'm just going to put the ports where i'd be able to see their screens and the main screen while playing.
Feel it, Don't think
Image
Post Reply