I've got a new mission for all of you Hardware experts!

Discuss modifications you have done or plan to do to your Dreamcast or any other hardware, or discuss devices you want to build. If your console does not work or is acting up, ask about fixing it in here.
pkScary
DCEmu Respected
DCEmu Respected
Posts: 1553
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2001 2:25 pm

Post by pkScary » Sat Jan 05, 2002 2:08 pm

i would like to thank the people that posted this amazing :!: link-

http://www.massystems.com/DC-VGA.html

mainly because i've been interested in arcade cabinets recently and this has been a great source of info. just wanted to point that out! :D
MidnightObsidian
Symbiotic Anomaly
Symbiotic Anomaly
Posts: 1234
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 12:50 am
Location: Portland, OR, USA
Contact:

Post by MidnightObsidian » Sat Jan 05, 2002 6:32 pm

Thanks for the link pkScary; it was really informative. I think I might have to rebuild mine. Maybe I'll put a bunch of outputs on it... SCART, S-Video, Composite and the like.

...or maybe I'm just too lazy. That's probably it.
I'm not Clessoulis. Seriously.
Sulk
DCEmu Crazy Poster
DCEmu Crazy Poster
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2002 11:13 am
Contact:

Post by Sulk » Sat Jul 06, 2002 7:20 pm

ok...im new to this...could I@N help me at all? i have no idea what the pictures represent, and ive only done the vmu led mod, fairly sime...any help would be nice....

Sulk

PS i dont know how old the thread is but could someone please help me? i really want one...
Synlor
Official DCEMU Stalker
Official DCEMU Stalker
Posts: 1604
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2002 6:26 pm
Location: South Dakota
Contact:

Post by Synlor » Sat Jul 06, 2002 7:37 pm

well... if your patient i'm writing a complete guide on website, but it'll probally take me awhile
Image
Thanks to Digital Chaos, GoldbergWWE, and ace for the avatar, sig, and badge!
http://devcast.dcemulation.com
Sulk
DCEmu Crazy Poster
DCEmu Crazy Poster
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2002 11:13 am
Contact:

Post by Sulk » Sat Jul 06, 2002 9:05 pm

oh okay...i didnt know you were making one on how to make one...i thought it was like another led mod...i dunno....okay ill wait i have no problem...

Sulk
-Azathoth-
Jounin Shinobi
Jounin Shinobi
Posts: 4215
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2002 10:48 pm
Location: Watching Anna Ohura Posts: ????
Contact:

Post by -Azathoth- » Tue Aug 20, 2002 11:30 pm

Very interesting......looks like I got a new project.... :)
"Deviantart is the home of messed up emo kids"
Image
aceraider4
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2002 6:37 pm
Location: Simpsonville, SC
Contact:

Post by aceraider4 » Tue Sep 03, 2002 6:44 pm

I was wondering whether or not its possible to build an adapter to increase resolution for an HDTV. Thanks

Tekin 8)
MidnightObsidian
Symbiotic Anomaly
Symbiotic Anomaly
Posts: 1234
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 12:50 am
Location: Portland, OR, USA
Contact:

Post by MidnightObsidian » Wed Sep 04, 2002 12:55 am

...wow. I was always hoping that this topic wouldn't come back to haunt me...

>= \
I'm not Clessoulis. Seriously.
Boolean3K
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2002 12:17 pm

Post by Boolean3K » Mon Sep 09, 2002 12:23 pm

Hi CORTA!!! Did you see those pictures from my VGA box?!
:D
myutwo33
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2003 3:38 pm
Location: Galway, Ireland
Contact:

Post by myutwo33 » Fri Feb 07, 2003 6:12 pm

i was wondering bput the 74HC241 too.. is it absolutly nessesary?

i'm in ireland and it's very difficult to get components like that, if i need it i probably have to order from the uk and that can get icky with postage costs so i'd avoid that if i could...

anyhelp?
then there were 2 dreamcasts! what? bannanas!!??!? *explosions*
bizzle

Post by bizzle » Fri Feb 07, 2003 6:40 pm

myutwo33 wrote:i was wondering bput the 74HC241 too.. is it absolutly nessesary?

i'm in ireland and it's very difficult to get components like that, if i need it i probably have to order from the uk and that can get icky with postage costs so i'd avoid that if i could...

anyhelp?
there was no need to bump a topic that was over a year old



you should of just made a new topic.
Ryo_S
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2003 8:11 pm

Post by Ryo_S » Fri Feb 28, 2003 8:14 pm

I was made VGA BOX but I have one problem, monitor's image shakes!!! like a little waves from up to down. Why that happens?
Screen menu appears, with an High Resolution, but I put any game (Sonic Adventure 2, Capcom VS SNK 2, Street Fighter 3, Virtua Tennis 2k2) & no one is visible, screen still black.

Help me please :)
kaks
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2003 6:34 pm

Post by kaks » Fri Oct 08, 2004 5:35 pm

Can some one help . I made a vga box and it works but there is a problem. the screen comes out blue and dark, I can see the graphics. I didnt use the capacitors that go with the red, green, and blue signals. coul that be the problem? can someone tell me what kind of capacitors are needed. I also connected the RGB and vga pins of the dc together and ground them, is that the right thing to do. Please I need help. Thanks
hugo
Alexvrb
DCEmu Ultra Poster
DCEmu Ultra Poster
Posts: 1754
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2002 11:25 am

Post by Alexvrb » Sat Oct 09, 2004 3:46 pm

Ack, you didn't need to dredge up this topic. Oh well, anyway, yes you need to follow a schematic closely. The one I saw called for 220uf.
If you have twenty monkeys,
banging randomly on typewriters,
they will in twenty minutes produce the complete source code to World of Warcraft.
Matt
Soul Sold for DCEmu
Soul Sold for DCEmu
Posts: 4235
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2003 4:48 pm
Location: By my PC Hair:Bad
Contact:

Post by Matt » Sat Oct 09, 2004 3:51 pm

Wow that is a big bump
User avatar
Roofus
President & CEO Roofuscorp, LLC
President & CEO Roofuscorp, LLC
Posts: 9888
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2002 11:42 pm

Post by Roofus » Sun Oct 10, 2004 4:09 pm

No kidding. A 35-year old topic. :o
riva16
DCEmu Mega Poster
DCEmu Mega Poster
Posts: 1474
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2002 3:58 pm
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Post by riva16 » Sun Oct 17, 2004 7:45 pm

I just remembered... The easiest way to add a VGA Box into the modem case AND using the plug is to use all the blank pins... The pins that don't do anything... There's a modem port pinout somwhere that tells you what all pins are blank and do nothing... You could just wire accordingly by running wire fromt he AV Out throught he system tot he modem plug intot he VGA box int he modem case...! Easy...
Why doesn't HTML work anymore on this damn forum!? God!
Saiyan Eye
Mental DCEmu
Mental DCEmu
Posts: 377
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2001 4:36 pm
Location: Decatur IL
Contact:

Post by Saiyan Eye » Thu Sep 14, 2006 11:48 pm

bump 37 year old post :P .

I know you guys will disaprove, but why does the year of this say 1969?
--==--
Image
User avatar
Prophet][
DCEmu Mega Fan
DCEmu Mega Fan
Posts: 2984
Joined: Fri May 31, 2002 6:10 am
Location: Adelaide

Post by Prophet][ » Fri Sep 15, 2006 12:07 am

Saiyan Eye wrote:bump 37 year old post :P .

I know you guys will disaprove, but why does the year of this say 1969?
You bumped this topic just to ask that? It was a proplem with the forum at one stage, most topics were fixed but a few got away.
User avatar
Skynet
DCEmu T-800
DCEmu T-800
Posts: 8594
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 6:27 pm
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Post by Skynet » Fri Sep 15, 2006 7:31 am

Null or offtopic could've quite easily answered this question. :o
Live gamertag: SKYNET211

Steam gamertag: SkynetT800
Locked