3D Printing a Serial Connector?

Discuss modifications you have done or plan to do to your Dreamcast or any other hardware, or discuss devices you want to build. If your console does not work or is acting up, ask about fixing it in here.
KingCrazy
DCEmu Crazy Poster
DCEmu Crazy Poster
https://www.artistsworkshop.eu/meble-kuchenne-na-wymiar-warszawa-gdzie-zamowic/

3D Printing a Serial Connector?

Post by KingCrazy »

So, I've mentioned a couple of times in another topic that I'm currently in the process of acquiring a coder's cable. I first plan on making one through some of the DIY methods I've found on the internet (assuming those are still good ways of getting my hands on one). But while researching information about the connector, I had a thought: Would it be possible to essentially re-create an official serial connector by 3D printing the head, and outfitting it with the proper pins?

I'm not a hardware guy, my degree is in Computer Science and not Computer Engineering for a reason! This might be impossible, but I'd like to bounce the ideas off you guys.

Essentially I'm talking about 3D printing the connector head only (obviously the pins have to be conductive, and you'd need to be able to solder out the back). I've seen people take HDMI cables and modify them to make functioning serial adapters. Their coder's cables are essentially just that, from what I can gather: plastic housing that's large enough to fit comfortably in the serial port, with 10 pins that are soldered to the back.

From what I can gather on my research of HDMI cables, the PCB is literally just large pads to small pads (Please correct me if I'm using the wrong terminology! I'd love to learn what the proper terms for this stuff are!) and also seems relatively easy to replicate given the proper materials.