DCEmulation

dreamcast development • homebrew software • hardware hacking • indie games • emulators • and more!
Back to main site
It is currently Sun Nov 23, 2014 8:45 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 225 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 ... 12  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2005 2:17 pm 
Offline
DCEmu Super Poster
DCEmu Super Poster

Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2004 2:05 am
Posts: 1342
Everything seems to be set up right. Try using the CDRecord GUI (data/data) and see if that helps any.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: CD Works, no games
PostPosted: Mon Jan 02, 2006 10:47 am 
Offline
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie

Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2006 10:28 am
Posts: 2
So I'm hoping my problem is not that hard to fix. I have followed your tutorial and was able to burn the disc (using Nero) and it plays just fine in my DC. I get to the screen with the "Help" "about DreamSNES" "Select Game" "Configure" and "Quite DreamSNES". with the pumkins falling and the music playing
My problem is in the "select game" category. I put the unzipped ROMS in the ROMS directory like you said in the walkthrough and still when I go to the Select Game option, no Games.
I got the ROMS off the internet at a site called http://www.coolrom.com.
Is there something I am missing? Is there a better place to get ROMS?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 03, 2006 10:55 pm 
Offline
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie

Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2006 10:28 am
Posts: 2
Nevermind Boys got it working. You'd be amazed what you would find when you read more posts


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2006 11:10 pm 
Offline
DCEmu Freak
DCEmu Freak

Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2003 11:33 am
Posts: 89
Wow I have not been around here in almost 4 years. I see I didn't miss much. They even wrote an SNES EMU for the GBA. Too bad. I was hoping that these guys wouldn't drop the ball and would see this to completion. SNES rules too.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2006 7:18 pm 
Offline
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu

Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 3:55 pm
Posts: 209
Location: Is that better Ace?
Soma_Cruz wrote:
And when i'm trying to burn the image in Alcohol 120%, in the second page of the burning wizard have a drop-down menu to choose "Data Format" what i need to choose??? It is on Playstation format when i open the image, but i think if is in this format because this is the last format if i burned...

Leave the data format set to its default format (you don't need to mess with the data format, at all).

But what is the default data format? In letters please?
I got it.
Mode: Mode 1/ DVD
Offset: 0
Block: 2352
TOC: CD-ROM/DVD
Uncheck = Add post-post gap to 3rd party images.

Survey says: IT WORKS PREFECTLY. Thanks to whoever started this sticky.

_________________
Sora Aoi, DoB : Nov. 11/83
Three #s : B35 [F Cup]-W23-H33
Ht : 5"1', Wt : She Ain't Telling
Eyes : Brwn, Hair : Brwn
Natural Bust : Disputed, Blood Type : B
Sexual Orientation : Heterosexual, Stage Names : Sola Aoi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 1:09 pm 
Offline
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie

Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 12:58 pm
Posts: 1
Quote:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

So I'm hoping my problem is not that hard to fix. I have followed your tutorial and was able to burn the disc (using Nero) and it plays just fine in my DC. I get to the screen with the "Help" "about DreamSNES" "Select Game" "Configure" and "Quite DreamSNES". with the pumkins falling and the music playing
My problem is in the "select game" category. I put the unzipped ROMS in the ROMS directory like you said in the walkthrough and still when I go to the Select Game option, no Games.


That is exactly my problem. I even got the roms from the same place.
Chickysod - How did you fix this problem. I read other posts hoping to find the answer like you had done, but I couldn't find it. Help me out please.
-thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 2:58 pm 
Offline
DC Developer
DC Developer

Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2002 8:14 am
Posts: 2009
Location: UNITED STATES NRN
I'd suggest either naming the games to something a lot more simple if they're not already (for example Aladdin.smc) or getting your games from a different place and try again.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 07, 2006 4:26 pm 
Offline
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie

Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 4:21 pm
Posts: 1
I used this tutorial to burn my disc (using disc juggler) but when I play a game it plays very slow and the screen shakes a little bit, does anyone know why this would be? I made two discs one with 351 games and the other with 247. Any advice would be appreciated.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2006 10:25 pm 
Offline
DCEmu Cool Newbie
DCEmu Cool Newbie

Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 7:48 pm
Posts: 10
i burned a couple discs (as discjuggler under alcohol120) and havent got my dreamcast to boot either of them. dreamcast was made in may of 99. but it goes cd playing screen and i cannot get it to play at all.........seems like everyone else got it to work but me.....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 09, 2006 4:29 pm 
Offline
DCEmu Cool Newbie
DCEmu Cool Newbie

Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 7:48 pm
Posts: 10
i think i found the problem and this should put in the tutorial for noobtards like myself:

Check on your DC to see if it has circle with a "0 or 1" next ot your PAL or NTSC symbol on it. if it does it will read burnt cd's. if there is a 2, your dreamcast wont support cd-r's

you cannot use cd-rw cd's, you must use cd-r's


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2006 9:28 am 
Offline
DCEmu Freak
DCEmu Freak

Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 4:27 pm
Posts: 57
Location: mississauga, ontario
i got it workinh to, i used discjuggler the whole way through. the only problem is that when i say choose game, a blue menu come up with nothing in it, and then closes. i remebr burning the roms with discjuggler. Do i have to do anything special?

_________________
Danny~


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2006 10:13 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 10:16 pm
Posts: 5843
Location: DCEvolution.net
oblachubs wrote:
Wow I have not been around here in almost 4 years. I see I didn't miss much. They even wrote an SNES EMU for the GBA. Too bad. I was hoping that these guys wouldn't drop the ball and would see this to completion. SNES rules too.


You are right that not much happend with SNES emulation on DC, however, literally all other systems had enormous progress:
http://www.dcemulation.org/phpBB/viewtopic.php?t=71861

_________________
Insane homebrew collector.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2006 6:02 pm 
Offline
DCEmu Freak
DCEmu Freak

Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 4:27 pm
Posts: 57
Location: mississauga, ontario
nvm, i got it working. it seemed when i created a rom folder and put roms in it, it doesnt end up in the image. so i just put them in the cd directory.

_________________
Danny~


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2006 4:26 pm 
Alphampi wrote:
I used this tutorial to burn my disc (using disc juggler) but when I play a game it plays very slow and the screen shakes a little bit, does anyone know why this would be? I made two discs one with 351 games and the other with 247. Any advice would be appreciated.

this is because there are many things that are occuring when you play.

primarily: the dreamcast is EMULATING
secondly:it is extracting it from a embedded ROM file.

Thirdly: :wink: this is the type of thing that is not supposed to happen-- but it does....

:idea: so that is why it plays a little slower. 8-)

if the game is playing slow, then the reason is because of the combination of the things that are occurring. :idea:

luis
:arrow:


Top
  
 
 Post subject: whattabout this
PostPosted: Sat Apr 22, 2006 9:38 pm 
Offline
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie

Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 9:34 pm
Posts: 2
16 bit MS-DOS Subsystem

C:/BOOTDR~1\tools\Bin2boot.exe
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\AUTOEXEC.NT. The system file is not suitable for running MS-DOS and Microsoft Windows applications. Choose ?Close? to terminate the application.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 23, 2006 12:12 pm 
Offline
DC Developer
DC Developer

Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2002 8:14 am
Posts: 2009
Location: UNITED STATES NRN
Open AUTOEXEC.NT in a text editor and save the following to it:

Code:
@echo off

REM AUTOEXEC.BAT is not used to initialize the MS-DOS environment.
REM AUTOEXEC.NT is used to initialize the MS-DOS environment unless a
REM different startup file is specified in an application's PIF.

REM Install CD ROM extensions
lh %SystemRoot%\system32\mscdexnt.exe

REM Install network redirector (load before dosx.exe)
lh %SystemRoot%\system32\redir

REM Install DPMI support
lh %SystemRoot%\system32\dosx

REM The following line enables Sound Blaster 2.0 support on NTVDM.
REM The command for setting the BLASTER environment is as follows:
REM    SET BLASTER=A220 I5 D1 P330
REM    where:
REM        A    specifies the sound blaster's base I/O port
REM        I    specifies the interrupt request line
REM        D    specifies the 8-bit DMA channel
REM        P    specifies the MPU-401 base I/O port
REM        T    specifies the type of sound blaster card
REM                 1 - Sound Blaster 1.5
REM                 2 - Sound Blaster Pro I
REM                 3 - Sound Blaster 2.0
REM                 4 - Sound Blaster Pro II
REM                 6 - SOund Blaster 16/AWE 32/32/64
REM
REM    The default value is A220 I5 D1 T3 and P330.  If any of the switches is
REM    left unspecified, the default value will be used. (NOTE, since all the
REM    ports are virtualized, the information provided here does not have to
REM    match the real hardware setting.)  NTVDM supports Sound Blaster 2.0 only.
REM    The T switch must be set to 3, if specified.
SET BLASTER=A220 I5 D1 P330 T3

REM To disable the sound blaster 2.0 support on NTVDM, specify an invalid
REM SB base I/O port address.  For example:
REM    SET BLASTER=A0


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: wow-how about this one?
PostPosted: Sun Apr 23, 2006 1:57 pm 
Offline
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie

Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 9:34 pm
Posts: 2
thanks! that's gone, now i got 2 pop ups. the first one reads:

Boot Dreams

There was an error creating the ISO image.

when i click ok, a black screen pops up for a split second, then a second box pops up:

Boot Dreams

There was an error creating the DiscJuggler Image.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 23, 2006 2:17 pm 
Offline
DC Developer
DC Developer

Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2002 8:14 am
Posts: 2009
Location: UNITED STATES NRN
Error creating the ISO could be a number of problems:

- Cygwin is installed and open
- You need to check "Use complete paths" in the options
- possibly other problems

It errors out with creating a DiscJuggler image because there's no ISO image.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2006 7:25 pm 
Offline
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie

Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2006 3:30 pm
Posts: 6
I burned mine with A120% and no errors, but my DC just hangs out on the boot screen for about 5 minutes while it goes nuts trying to read the disk, then ends up at the browser. :(


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 225 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 ... 12  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group