How to create a selfbooting DreamSNES disc with games

Anything DreamSNES-related can be asked in this forum, such as general questions about the emulator, how to burn it, etc.
Post Reply
LyingWake
DCEmu Super Poster
DCEmu Super Poster
Posts: 1342
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2004 4:05 am
Contact:

Post by LyingWake » Wed Dec 21, 2005 3:17 pm

Everything seems to be set up right. Try using the CDRecord GUI (data/data) and see if that helps any.
Chickysod
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2006 11:28 am

CD Works, no games

Post by Chickysod » Mon Jan 02, 2006 11:47 am

So I'm hoping my problem is not that hard to fix. I have followed your tutorial and was able to burn the disc (using Nero) and it plays just fine in my DC. I get to the screen with the "Help" "about DreamSNES" "Select Game" "Configure" and "Quite DreamSNES". with the pumkins falling and the music playing
My problem is in the "select game" category. I put the unzipped ROMS in the ROMS directory like you said in the walkthrough and still when I go to the Select Game option, no Games.
I got the ROMS off the internet at a site called http://www.coolrom.com.
Is there something I am missing? Is there a better place to get ROMS?
Chickysod
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2006 11:28 am

Post by Chickysod » Tue Jan 03, 2006 11:55 pm

Nevermind Boys got it working. You'd be amazed what you would find when you read more posts
oblachubs
DCEmu Freak
DCEmu Freak
Posts: 89
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2003 12:33 pm

Post by oblachubs » Fri Jan 06, 2006 12:10 am

Wow I have not been around here in almost 4 years. I see I didn't miss much. They even wrote an SNES EMU for the GBA. Too bad. I was hoping that these guys wouldn't drop the ball and would see this to completion. SNES rules too.
Vlame
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
Posts: 209
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 4:55 pm
Location: Is that better Ace?
Contact:

Post by Vlame » Mon Feb 13, 2006 8:18 pm

Soma_Cruz wrote:
And when i'm trying to burn the image in Alcohol 120%, in the second page of the burning wizard have a drop-down menu to choose "Data Format" what i need to choose??? It is on Playstation format when i open the image, but i think if is in this format because this is the last format if i burned...

Leave the data format set to its default format (you don't need to mess with the data format, at all).

But what is the default data format? In letters please?
I got it.
Mode: Mode 1/ DVD
Offset: 0
Block: 2352
TOC: CD-ROM/DVD
Uncheck = Add post-post gap to 3rd party images.

Survey says: IT WORKS PREFECTLY. Thanks to whoever started this sticky.
Sora Aoi, DoB : Nov. 11/83
Three #s : B35 [F Cup]-W23-H33
Ht : 5"1', Wt : She Ain't Telling
Eyes : Brwn, Hair : Brwn
Natural Bust : Disputed, Blood Type : B
Sexual Orientation : Heterosexual, Stage Names : Sola Aoi
Nosferatu
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 1:58 pm

Post by Nosferatu » Mon Feb 20, 2006 2:09 pm

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

So I'm hoping my problem is not that hard to fix. I have followed your tutorial and was able to burn the disc (using Nero) and it plays just fine in my DC. I get to the screen with the "Help" "about DreamSNES" "Select Game" "Configure" and "Quite DreamSNES". with the pumkins falling and the music playing
My problem is in the "select game" category. I put the unzipped ROMS in the ROMS directory like you said in the walkthrough and still when I go to the Select Game option, no Games.
That is exactly my problem. I even got the roms from the same place.
Chickysod - How did you fix this problem. I read other posts hoping to find the answer like you had done, but I couldn't find it. Help me out please.
-thanks
User avatar
emptythought
DC Developer
DC Developer
Posts: 2015
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2002 9:14 am
Location: UNITED STATES NRN
Contact:

Post by emptythought » Mon Feb 20, 2006 3:58 pm

I'd suggest either naming the games to something a lot more simple if they're not already (for example Aladdin.smc) or getting your games from a different place and try again.
Alphampi
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 5:21 pm

Post by Alphampi » Tue Mar 07, 2006 5:26 pm

I used this tutorial to burn my disc (using disc juggler) but when I play a game it plays very slow and the screen shakes a little bit, does anyone know why this would be? I made two discs one with 351 games and the other with 247. Any advice would be appreciated.
zlyricist
DCEmu Cool Newbie
DCEmu Cool Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 8:48 pm

Post by zlyricist » Wed Mar 08, 2006 11:25 pm

i burned a couple discs (as discjuggler under alcohol120) and havent got my dreamcast to boot either of them. dreamcast was made in may of 99. but it goes cd playing screen and i cannot get it to play at all.........seems like everyone else got it to work but me.....
zlyricist
DCEmu Cool Newbie
DCEmu Cool Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 8:48 pm

Post by zlyricist » Thu Mar 09, 2006 5:29 pm

i think i found the problem and this should put in the tutorial for noobtards like myself:

Check on your DC to see if it has circle with a "0 or 1" next ot your PAL or NTSC symbol on it. if it does it will read burnt cd's. if there is a 2, your dreamcast wont support cd-r's

you cannot use cd-rw cd's, you must use cd-r's
psorules803
DCEmu Freak
DCEmu Freak
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 5:27 pm
Location: mississauga, ontario

Post by psorules803 » Sat Mar 11, 2006 10:28 am

i got it workinh to, i used discjuggler the whole way through. the only problem is that when i say choose game, a blue menu come up with nothing in it, and then closes. i remebr burning the roms with discjuggler. Do i have to do anything special?
Danny~
User avatar
Christuserloeser
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5936
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2003 12:16 am
Location: DCEvolution.net
Contact:

Post by Christuserloeser » Sat Mar 11, 2006 11:13 am

oblachubs wrote:Wow I have not been around here in almost 4 years. I see I didn't miss much. They even wrote an SNES EMU for the GBA. Too bad. I was hoping that these guys wouldn't drop the ball and would see this to completion. SNES rules too.
You are right that not much happend with SNES emulation on DC, however, literally all other systems had enormous progress:
http://www.dcemulation.org/phpBB/viewtopic.php?t=71861
Insane homebrew collector.
psorules803
DCEmu Freak
DCEmu Freak
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 5:27 pm
Location: mississauga, ontario

Post by psorules803 » Sat Mar 11, 2006 7:02 pm

nvm, i got it working. it seemed when i created a rom folder and put roms in it, it doesnt end up in the image. so i just put them in the cd directory.
Danny~
luis Canadas

Post by luis Canadas » Mon Mar 20, 2006 5:26 pm

Alphampi wrote:I used this tutorial to burn my disc (using disc juggler) but when I play a game it plays very slow and the screen shakes a little bit, does anyone know why this would be? I made two discs one with 351 games and the other with 247. Any advice would be appreciated.
this is because there are many things that are occuring when you play.

primarily: the dreamcast is EMULATING
secondly:it is extracting it from a embedded ROM file.

Thirdly: :wink: this is the type of thing that is not supposed to happen-- but it does....

:idea: so that is why it plays a little slower. 8-)

if the game is playing slow, then the reason is because of the combination of the things that are occurring. :idea:

luis
:arrow:
larrynkatie
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 11:34 pm

whattabout this

Post by larrynkatie » Sat Apr 22, 2006 11:38 pm

16 bit MS-DOS Subsystem

C:/BOOTDR~1\tools\Bin2boot.exe
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\AUTOEXEC.NT. The system file is not suitable for running MS-DOS and Microsoft Windows applications. Choose ?Close? to terminate the application.
User avatar
emptythought
DC Developer
DC Developer
Posts: 2015
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2002 9:14 am
Location: UNITED STATES NRN
Contact:

Post by emptythought » Sun Apr 23, 2006 2:12 pm

Open AUTOEXEC.NT in a text editor and save the following to it:

Code: Select all

@echo off

REM AUTOEXEC.BAT is not used to initialize the MS-DOS environment.
REM AUTOEXEC.NT is used to initialize the MS-DOS environment unless a
REM different startup file is specified in an application's PIF.

REM Install CD ROM extensions
lh %SystemRoot%\system32\mscdexnt.exe

REM Install network redirector (load before dosx.exe)
lh %SystemRoot%\system32\redir

REM Install DPMI support
lh %SystemRoot%\system32\dosx

REM The following line enables Sound Blaster 2.0 support on NTVDM.
REM The command for setting the BLASTER environment is as follows:
REM    SET BLASTER=A220 I5 D1 P330
REM    where:
REM        A    specifies the sound blaster's base I/O port
REM        I    specifies the interrupt request line
REM        D    specifies the 8-bit DMA channel
REM        P    specifies the MPU-401 base I/O port
REM        T    specifies the type of sound blaster card
REM                 1 - Sound Blaster 1.5
REM                 2 - Sound Blaster Pro I
REM                 3 - Sound Blaster 2.0
REM                 4 - Sound Blaster Pro II
REM                 6 - SOund Blaster 16/AWE 32/32/64
REM
REM    The default value is A220 I5 D1 T3 and P330.  If any of the switches is
REM    left unspecified, the default value will be used. (NOTE, since all the
REM    ports are virtualized, the information provided here does not have to
REM    match the real hardware setting.)  NTVDM supports Sound Blaster 2.0 only.
REM    The T switch must be set to 3, if specified.
SET BLASTER=A220 I5 D1 P330 T3

REM To disable the sound blaster 2.0 support on NTVDM, specify an invalid
REM SB base I/O port address.  For example:
REM    SET BLASTER=A0
larrynkatie
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 11:34 pm

wow-how about this one?

Post by larrynkatie » Sun Apr 23, 2006 3:57 pm

thanks! that's gone, now i got 2 pop ups. the first one reads:

Boot Dreams

There was an error creating the ISO image.

when i click ok, a black screen pops up for a split second, then a second box pops up:

Boot Dreams

There was an error creating the DiscJuggler Image.
User avatar
emptythought
DC Developer
DC Developer
Posts: 2015
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2002 9:14 am
Location: UNITED STATES NRN
Contact:

Post by emptythought » Sun Apr 23, 2006 4:17 pm

Error creating the ISO could be a number of problems:

- Cygwin is installed and open
- You need to check "Use complete paths" in the options
- possibly other problems

It errors out with creating a DiscJuggler image because there's no ISO image.
snowman
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2006 5:30 pm

Post by snowman » Fri Apr 28, 2006 9:25 pm

I burned mine with A120% and no errors, but my DC just hangs out on the boot screen for about 5 minutes while it goes nuts trying to read the disk, then ends up at the browser. :(
Post Reply