Parappa the Rapper settings for ePSXe?

Talk about all gaming unrelated to the Dreamcast. This includes emulation of other consoles as well.
Post Reply
jessman
DCEmu Super Poster
DCEmu Super Poster
Posts: 1434
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2003 10:15 pm
Location: At the end of the stage with a MASSIVE arsenal!
Contact:

Parappa the Rapper settings for ePSXe?

Post by jessman » Fri Apr 30, 2004 6:43 pm

Hey, I just bought the first Parappa but don't have a psx or ps2 anymore. I'm gonna buy one later, but for now I'm trying to enjoy emulation. The thing is, when I play the game it's either slightly out of sync, or it's in sync but glitches up A LOT! I can tweak the graphics to look almost as good as Parappa 2, but in between using the ePSXE SPU core 1.5.2, and P.E.Op.S. DSound Audio Driver 1.7, gameplay is always flawed. Please help me. I'm playing the game off of my hardrive because I converted it to a BIN image for better performance. I have an AMD Athlon 2400 with 2.0ghz, 352 MB DDR RAM, and a GeForce2 MX400 so the issue shouldn't be my pc. Also, the FMVs seem to pause/stop randomly. Can I fix this?
Image

Spreading his inquiries all over the net!

<^_^>
jessman
DCEmu Super Poster
DCEmu Super Poster
Posts: 1434
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2003 10:15 pm
Location: At the end of the stage with a MASSIVE arsenal!
Contact:

Post by jessman » Fri Apr 30, 2004 10:39 pm

please help me guys!
Image

Spreading his inquiries all over the net!

<^_^>
-Azathoth-
Jounin Shinobi
Jounin Shinobi
Posts: 4215
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2002 10:48 pm
Location: Watching Anna Ohura Posts: ????
Contact:

Post by -Azathoth- » Fri Apr 30, 2004 10:41 pm

eh i had the same trouble with my gfx card, and its a decent card too. =/

finding the right plugin is difficult.
"Deviantart is the home of messed up emo kids"
Image
jessman
DCEmu Super Poster
DCEmu Super Poster
Posts: 1434
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2003 10:15 pm
Location: At the end of the stage with a MASSIVE arsenal!
Contact:

Post by jessman » Sat May 01, 2004 12:24 am

darnit. it's not fair. somebody in here has gotta be able to help me...
Image

Spreading his inquiries all over the net!

<^_^>
User avatar
Falcon McCooper
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie
Posts: 219
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 11:11 pm
Location: Corneria
Contact:

Post by Falcon McCooper » Sat May 01, 2004 12:27 am

Holy hell, your computer is about 7 times faster than the computer I played MGS on (about 3 years ago) for PS: a 266MHz P2!

Is it a PS game or a PS2 game?
Image
area
DCEmu Super Poster
DCEmu Super Poster
Posts: 1403
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2002 6:20 am
Location: &#960;r?

Post by area » Sat May 01, 2004 12:39 am

Falcon McCooper wrote:Holy hell, your computer is about 7 times faster than the computer I played MGS on (about 3 years ago) for PS: a 266MHz P2!

Is it a PS game or a PS2 game?
It's a Playstation game.
Image
User avatar
Falcon McCooper
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie
Posts: 219
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 11:11 pm
Location: Corneria
Contact:

Post by Falcon McCooper » Sat May 01, 2004 2:25 am

Heh. I used Connectix's "Virtual Game Station". The only problem I had with it was that it never worked right with my Gravis GamePad Pro, so I had to use the keyboard a lot. At the time I didn't know about Bleem, so cut me some slack! :lol:

Might be able to find VGS somewhere somewhere on the Net *COUGH*:isthatlegal:*COUGH*... as I know that Connectix stopped support for VGS years ago. :(
Image
jessman
DCEmu Super Poster
DCEmu Super Poster
Posts: 1434
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2003 10:15 pm
Location: At the end of the stage with a MASSIVE arsenal!
Contact:

Post by jessman » Sat May 01, 2004 3:14 am

I've used every psx emulator there is. VGS was the first emulator that I used YEARS ago, lol. Thanks for trying to help, but I've searched it through and VGS has serious issues on XP even with the patch. It also can't read images. Well, nevermind about the settings. I just had to close a few programs and ePSXe's default SPU is working great!
Image

Spreading his inquiries all over the net!

<^_^>
User avatar
Nyarlathotep
Soul Sold for DCEmu
Soul Sold for DCEmu
Posts: 7390
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2002 1:37 pm

Post by Nyarlathotep » Sat May 01, 2004 6:11 am

But most important, YOU GOTTA BELIEVE!
Image
ninja
DCEmu's own ninja
DCEmu's own ninja
Posts: 2381
Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2002 12:48 am

Post by ninja » Sat May 01, 2004 7:13 am

a new gfx card would help out tremendously to be honest. i was using a geforce2 mx400 as well for epsxe, and it ran, but not that great. i picked up a radeon 9000 for $50 a few months back, and now it runs flawlessly. you could also try turning down some of the texture shading options if you use petes plug-ins.
Delete my posting account.

Thanks.
jessman
DCEmu Super Poster
DCEmu Super Poster
Posts: 1434
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2003 10:15 pm
Location: At the end of the stage with a MASSIVE arsenal!
Contact:

Post by jessman » Sat May 01, 2004 10:33 am

nice one, wily........... :roll: :lol: lmao. (Remember kids, you gotta redeem, you gotta relieve, you gotta recieve, and YOU GOTTA BELIEVE!)


PLEASE READ THIS ALL! I'M SORRY THAT IT'S SO LONG!

well, what was the speed of your pc? i may have an old graphics card, but I don't even know if my pc has an AGP slot so i just bought the best (and cheapest) PCI that i could find. I bought a "Wal-Mart Special" pc and had to upgrade a MILLION things because of how sucky it was! IMAGINE RUNNING XP WITH ONLY 128MB OF DDR RAM!!!!! Ha ha ha. The thing is, after I bought my pc no one working at Wal-Mart could assist me. There was NO mention of an AGP slot WHATSOEVER around my ENTIRE pc, but since it's an AMD Athlon 2400 at 2ghz with XP Home edition do you guys think it SHOLD have one? I don't know much about the inside of a computer, but when I installed my PCI i saw a brownish slot all by itself near the GFX ports. Is THIS an AGP? Please help.



P.S. My pc runs Parappa PERFECT now with a 1024x768 res at 32-bit and EXTENDED filtering on! Too bad Anti-aliasing is SO SLOW! Can anyone recommend a good card that'll work on my pc which will allow me to use FULL anti-aliasing and easily play at 1200xblah with psx and n64 emulation? Thanks.
Image

Spreading his inquiries all over the net!

<^_^>
User avatar
butters
Classic Games Lover
Classic Games Lover
Posts: 5088
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2002 6:50 pm
Location: Lubbock, Texas, United States, Sol 3, Milky Way Galaxy
Contact:

Post by butters » Sat May 01, 2004 11:47 am

Just about any motherboard made after 1998 or so will have agp.
navi
DCEmu Super Poster
DCEmu Super Poster
Posts: 1374
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2002 4:54 pm
Location: Eat. Sleep. KoF
Contact:

Post by navi » Sat May 01, 2004 12:57 pm

I'd just spring for a PS1 they are only like 50 bucks now... and i'm pretty sure it will support Parappa the Rapper :P
Image
jessman
DCEmu Super Poster
DCEmu Super Poster
Posts: 1434
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2003 10:15 pm
Location: At the end of the stage with a MASSIVE arsenal!
Contact:

Post by jessman » Sat May 01, 2004 7:12 pm

thanks everyone. Now, if I bought Parappa 2, is there any way to play THAT on my pc? I just wanna know if PS2 emulation is up to snuff yet.
Image

Spreading his inquiries all over the net!

<^_^>
MKE
DCEmu Super Fan
DCEmu Super Fan
Posts: 2416
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2003 12:24 pm
Location: your mom's room
Contact:

Post by MKE » Sat May 01, 2004 7:28 pm

no
Image
XBOX live gamertag: MKEmods
MKE
DCEmu Super Fan
DCEmu Super Fan
Posts: 2416
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2003 12:24 pm
Location: your mom's room
Contact:

Post by MKE » Sat May 01, 2004 7:29 pm

no.

even though there are a few emu's in the work's, i think the dc emulators will be running full speed b4 the ps2 one's can even run 15% of the games.
Image
XBOX live gamertag: MKEmods
User avatar
Falcon McCooper
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie
Posts: 219
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 11:11 pm
Location: Corneria
Contact:

Post by Falcon McCooper » Sat May 01, 2004 7:40 pm

Bowser wrote:Just about any motherboard made after 1998 or so will have agp.
Close, but not quite.

Every retail motherboard made after 1998 will have an AGP slot (usually). You know, the boards you buy to build your computer.

Exception?

HP computers. Popular, and infamous for cutting corners. I have yet, today, to see a single cheap-o wal-mart special HP computer with an AGP slot. I've worked on a 1.5GHz Celeron HP computer that had, like, 4 PCI slots and no AGP slot. That's why I hate HP home computers! :lol:

And yeah, AGP slots are just about always brown. And they have 2 almost equally-spaced sections (or, on some slots, no divider at all). PCI is almost always white, and has 1 large section and 1 very small section. There's only one AGP slot in any computer (if any, that I know of).

I forgot about the WinNT limitation of VGS! I tried running it on Windows 2000 and couldn't, so I couldn't play Playstation games anymore! :lol:
Image
jessman
DCEmu Super Poster
DCEmu Super Poster
Posts: 1434
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2003 10:15 pm
Location: At the end of the stage with a MASSIVE arsenal!
Contact:

Re: Parappa the Rapper settings for ePSXe?

Post by jessman » Sat May 12, 2018 2:27 pm

Why would you bump my 14 year old thread? I'm thoroughly embarrassed with how immature I was so many years ago, so thanks for sending a notification to my email. 😅
Image

Spreading his inquiries all over the net!

<^_^>
Post Reply