DCEmulation

The Dreamcast Homebrew Community Online
Back to main site
It is currently Fri Aug 01, 2014 3:28 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 202 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Makaqu 1.3
PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2008 12:41 pm 
Offline
DCEmu Ex-Mod
DCEmu Ex-Mod
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2001 4:12 pm
Posts: 3523
Location: Hell, Brazil
linlinlol wrote:
a parameter to skip those annoying intro dialogs would be nice too, for mapping tests

GNU General Public License Version 2 wrote:
c) If the modified program normally reads commands interactively when run, you must cause it, when started running for such interactive use in the most ordinary way, to print or display an announcement including an appropriate copyright notice and a notice that there is no warranty (or else, saying that you provide a warranty) and that users may redistribute the program under these conditions, and telling the user how to view a copy of this License. (Exception: if the Program itself is interactive but does not normally print such an announcement, your work based on the Program is not required to print an announcement.)

WinQuake doesn't fall under this exception since its quit menu is also a credits screen containing copyright information. All I did was move this credits screen to the initialization and add a second one for Makaqu.

You can quickly press a couple keys or roll the mouse wheel if you want them to vanish faster though.

_________________
Makaqu engine blog / website.
Image
⇈ ⇊ ⇆ ⇆ B A Start


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Makaqu 1.3
PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2008 10:01 pm 
Offline
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 10:37 pm
Posts: 152
Location: CHINA
Manoel wrote:
linlinlol wrote:
a parameter to skip those annoying intro dialogs would be nice too, for mapping tests

GNU General Public License Version 2 wrote:
c) If the modified program normally reads commands interactively when run, you must cause it, when started running for such interactive use in the most ordinary way, to print or display an announcement including an appropriate copyright notice and a notice that there is no warranty (or else, saying that you provide a warranty) and that users may redistribute the program under these conditions, and telling the user how to view a copy of this License. (Exception: if the Program itself is interactive but does not normally print such an announcement, your work based on the Program is not required to print an announcement.)

WinQuake doesn't fall under this exception since its quit menu is also a credits screen containing copyright information. All I did was move this credits screen to the initialization and add a second one for Makaqu.

You can quickly press a couple keys or roll the mouse wheel if you want them to vanish faster though.

Darkplaces doesn't do this.

_________________
DOODOO


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Makaqu 1.3
PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2008 3:03 am 
Offline
DCEmu Ex-Mod
DCEmu Ex-Mod
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2001 4:12 pm
Posts: 3523
Location: Hell, Brazil
I know.

_________________
Makaqu engine blog / website.
Image
⇈ ⇊ ⇆ ⇆ B A Start


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Makaqu 1.3
PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2008 11:26 pm 
Offline
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 10:37 pm
Posts: 152
Location: CHINA
i've noticed view size also affects status bar scoreboard in deathmatch

FEATURE REUQES:T cvar that makes second sky scroll layer additive if addmap exists

_________________
DOODOO


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Makaqu 1.3
PostPosted: Fri Apr 04, 2008 2:37 am 
Offline
DCEmu Ex-Mod
DCEmu Ex-Mod
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2001 4:12 pm
Posts: 3523
Location: Hell, Brazil
I'll take a look at the status bar scoreboard. I guess it's been a couple years since I played a dm game in Makaqu...

It's funny that you mentioned the additive sky blending, because I had done this for Fightoon (hard coded, no cvar) and reverted it for Makaqu 1.3. There's actually a handful of interesting blending effects that would work well in different situations, and it would be interesting to implement a way to select between different blend maps not only for the sky but also for the other parts of the renderer that uses blending effects (liquids, sprites, alias models, console background, etc.).

Personally I'd like to replace EF_ADDITIVE with a string field called .r_blendmap and a float field called .r_blendintensity, and EF_CELSHADING with a float field called .r_shading (.r_shading would also replace EF_FULLBRIGHT and the metallic shading whose EF_ name I don't remember right now) and another called .r_outline (which could probably be replaced with a .r_wireframe), but I don't see the point in making all these standards for an obscure engine such as Makaqu.

By the way, I just remembered that Makaqu supports multiple sky textures in the same map (normal Quake engines always uses the same sky texture on all sky surfaces). And Makaqu 1.3 can display skyboxes in maps without sky surfaces (the skyboxes replaces the void, noclip out of a map to see).

Well, enough rambling. Currently I'm kinda busy working in a Java dancing game, but when I get enough free time I'll work on Makaqu 1.4, which should be the last release.

_________________
Makaqu engine blog / website.
Image
⇈ ⇊ ⇆ ⇆ B A Start


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Makaqu 1.3
PostPosted: Fri Apr 04, 2008 1:04 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 11:52 am
Posts: 614
Location: Munich, Germany
Manoel, I just want to say a "Great work" to you. Your mod is so nice, I love it. I tried it today. :)

_________________
..::SEGA-DC.DE - The home of the German Dreamcast scene::..
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Makaqu 1.3
PostPosted: Sun Apr 06, 2008 6:56 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 10:16 pm
Posts: 5781
Location: DCEvolution.net
I think you confused Manoel (nxMakaqu) with Tyne (TAoV) ;)

_________________
Insane homebrew collector.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Makaqu 1.3
PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2008 1:39 pm 
Offline
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 10:37 pm
Posts: 152
Location: CHINA
put in
writestring2
make ftos not a tempstring so multiple ftos'd numbers get allowed in one centerprint/writestring2

why?

so sis could possibly make this happen
Image

_________________
DOODOO


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Makaqu 1.3
PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2008 10:34 pm 
Offline
Pimp DC Devver
Pimp DC Devver
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 5:44 pm
Posts: 1666
Location: Canada, Ontario
linlinlol wrote:
put in
writestring2
make ftos not a tempstring so multiple ftos'd numbers get allowed in one centerprint/writestring2

why?

so sis could possibly make this happen
Image


Moar of FF4 in Quake plz

_________________
"I'm convinced RenegadeC is in fact not a human, but rather an experimental IRC/QuakeC bot who has the ability to randomly formulate mods and code them, programmed to have a distinct Canadian personality as well."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Makaqu 1.3
PostPosted: Thu Apr 10, 2008 7:06 pm 
Offline
DCEmu Ex-Mod
DCEmu Ex-Mod
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2001 4:12 pm
Posts: 3523
Location: Hell, Brazil
I've spent some hours looking through the DC controller code over and over and couldn't find anything wrong with it. The only real reason for me to release a new version is to get the x-axis bug fixed, so don't expect anything soon. I'm extremely busy this year.

_________________
Makaqu engine blog / website.
Image
⇈ ⇊ ⇆ ⇆ B A Start


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Makaqu 1.3
PostPosted: Thu Sep 11, 2008 7:31 am 
Offline
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie

Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 7:27 am
Posts: 1
Manoel wrote:
I've spent some hours looking through the DC controller code over and over and couldn't find anything wrong with it. The only real reason for me to release a new version is to get the x-axis bug fixed, so don't expect anything soon. I'm extremely busy this year.


I registered just to say thank you for this great port. (its really fast )

Any links on modding quake code?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Makaqu 1.3
PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2008 5:00 pm 
Offline
DCEmu Ex-Mod
DCEmu Ex-Mod
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2001 4:12 pm
Posts: 3523
Location: Hell, Brazil
www.inside3d.com seems to be the best place nowadays.

_________________
Makaqu engine blog / website.
Image
⇈ ⇊ ⇆ ⇆ B A Start


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Makaqu 1.3
PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 12:52 pm 
Offline
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 10:37 pm
Posts: 152
Location: CHINA
to bad makahex cant hapen

_________________
DOODOO


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Makaqu 1.3
PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 3:02 pm 
Offline
DCEmu Ex-Mod
DCEmu Ex-Mod
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2001 4:12 pm
Posts: 3523
Location: Hell, Brazil
http://forum.top.igg.com/viewthread.php ... &tid=88136 :?:

Quote:
hey guys may tanong lng ako!bakit one hour lang ako nakakapaghex?!i start at 11 pm then kpag 12am na, d ko na ma-accept ung 1st task?ung iba naman nag-hehex pa?!bkt ganon?at tsaka 3 hrs na ba ang hex? nagbebenta kc ako ng hex pt meron p din nkiki-party up until 2am?!

pls pasagot nmn ng tanong ko!!!ako'y nababagabag dhil d ako makahex!tnx

_________________
Makaqu engine blog / website.
Image
⇈ ⇊ ⇆ ⇆ B A Start


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Makaqu 1.3
PostPosted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 7:18 am 
Offline
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 10:37 pm
Posts: 152
Location: CHINA
makahex mix of maka qu! and hexeen2

_________________
DOODOO


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Makaqu 1.3
PostPosted: Mon Apr 20, 2009 1:59 pm 
Offline
DCEmu Cool Poster
DCEmu Cool Poster

Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 5:44 pm
Posts: 1004
I tried makaqu 1.3 today and I couldn't control the view/look with the analog stick. Is this the way it is? Is there any way to enable the analog stick to control where you look? Do I need a dreamcast mouse?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Makaqu 1.4 alpha
PostPosted: Fri Dec 10, 2010 7:50 am 
Offline
DCEmu Ex-Mod
DCEmu Ex-Mod
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2001 4:12 pm
Posts: 3523
Location: Hell, Brazil
New version released, but it's an alpha; Dreamcast binaries are untested.

Its documentation hasn't been updated, so the best place to check for what's changed in it is the blog.
law56ker wrote:
I tried makaqu 1.3 today and I couldn't control the view/look with the analog stick. Is this the way it is? Is there any way to enable the analog stick to control where you look? Do I need a dreamcast mouse?

Be sure to check the "Customize controls" menu to see if all axes are properly assigned.

Also, in the version 1.3 there was a bug in the X axis of the analog stick, which has been fixed now.

_________________
Makaqu engine blog / website.
Image
⇈ ⇊ ⇆ ⇆ B A Start


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Makaqu 1.4 alpha
PostPosted: Fri Dec 10, 2010 1:51 pm 
Offline
Insane DCEmu
Insane DCEmu

Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2003 4:37 pm
Posts: 153
Excellent news. Thank you, Manoel. I'll be giving the Dreamcast binary a go as soon as possible!

EDIT : I'm getting to a mod menu in which I can select a display resolution, but from here the game goes to a black screen for a couple of seconds before displaying the Dreamcast logo. I've tried every possible resolution.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Makaqu 1.4 alpha
PostPosted: Sun Feb 06, 2011 11:40 am 
Offline
DCEmu Newbie
DCEmu Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 6:30 am
Posts: 5
Makaqu 1.4 alpha won't even boot up the original quake files, it bogs out as soon as you select the ID1 folder, 1.3 has that -X axis bug, wants to play :( asides from that all great lol

Nice sexy highres

P.S. if it helps in the slightest NullDC will give the error.....

not implemented opcode : 0 : unknown opcode @ 83001000

then at
83001002
83001004
83001006
......
it just keeps going on like that (see attachment)

on actual hardware it just reboots

More of a bug report rather than a moan, it's nice to see some activity on the olde Dreamcast :D

EDIT:- will play round with 1.2 for now and look forward to the next update and will be more than willing to test things out, providing I still have the spare time/CD-R's by then, it's been a while (4 years apx) since I got involved in any project, about as long as I lacked internet ;)

EDIT:- Just another point for 1.3 it has no support for path names with spaces in it, e.g. had to rename "Dissolution of Eternity" to "Dissolution_of_Eternity", just a limitation to point out for other wanting to play test, not sure if there are any other naming limits, there most likley is, there is anyway on CD's in general


Attachments:
File comment: Dubug dump from DCEmu while running Makaqu 1.4 alpha after selecting ID1
Debug.jpg
Debug.jpg [ 256.95 KiB | Viewed 1434 times ]

_________________
Just here to help if I can
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Makaqu 1.4 alpha
PostPosted: Sun Feb 06, 2011 1:22 pm 
Offline
DCEmu Ex-Mod
DCEmu Ex-Mod
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2001 4:12 pm
Posts: 3523
Location: Hell, Brazil
I haven't been able to test it on the Dreamcast yet, but should be in over a month. I haven't actually verified all changes to make sure that they'd not introduce bugs in the DC version, so there were chances that it would not work.

Makaqu's modlist is very primitive. I'd like to make a portable one that would also work in the Windows version, but it's not a priority.

The X-axis bug in version 1.3 is actually a menu bug, it can be fixed by correcting the size of a certain array in menu.c.

In over a month I should start working on the version 1.5, which should end up being more stable.

_________________
Makaqu engine blog / website.
Image
⇈ ⇊ ⇆ ⇆ B A Start


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 202 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group